We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Motor Inn(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
361
502
139
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
502
139
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squarebathroom sinkcentral locationhand basinper daynew zealandgood sizeregent streetcomfortable hotelthe heart of the citybuffet breakfastrestart mallmini barfree internetone night staysouth islandcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We had dinner there, and have done a few times.
Good service, lovely view out to mountains.
It is good to be back in town again.
Menu has a reasonable range, and good coffee.
Ask for a window seat if booking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, Front Office Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Dave D,

Thank you for posting your review in TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed our restaurant food, location and service. I am sure the restaurant staff are happy to know they have met your expectations and delivered a good service. Window seats are indeed great! We hope to see you again soon.

Have a great weekend!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at the Novotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We are fans of Novotel and were not disappointed. Nice, quiet and comfortable, very good wi-fi, excellent buffet breakfast. The staff are very accommodating - the staff in the restaurant are particularly lovely.

Perfect location to walk around city attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvakiwihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, Front Office Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Luvakiwihol,

Thank you for your feedback!

Great to see we are ticking all the right boxes and taking good care of you during your stays. We look forward to your next visit.

Have a fantastic weekend!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Novotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

2 night stay for my brothers 60th. Adult son also stayed in a separate room one night. I used my free accor night on one of the nights and wanted to change my free breakfast , staff were more than accommodating and nothing was an issue. Excellent service overall, free drinks vouchers were appreciated and used ! Great central location, shame to see CHCH central CBD is still very quiet, quite sad.
Rooms very good , breakfast buffet was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Andrew J,

Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.

Congratulations to your brother on his 60th birthday! It is great to see you used your free night from your AccorPlus membership and that you had the opportunity to spend sometime with your family. I am pleased we were able to accommodate your request and that our service ticked all the right boxes.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Ibis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Novotel (after being upgraded from the Ibis) at the start of our South Island leg and at the end after catching the TransAlpine from Greymouth and both stays were fantastic. From the friendly staff who greeted us each time, to the modern and comfortable rooms and the rain style shower head in the shower that was amazing after a long day!

The hotel is a short stroll to central Christchurch and has an abundance of great meal options within a stones throw.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank petejaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear petejaus,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Fantastic to see you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by our team. We are sure you took some great memories home from this holiday!

All the best from our team and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Novotel Christhcurch


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Hard to get to because roads are still closed. And for international travellers conning over its very hard. Über and cab drivers had difficulty dropping us back, 9 times out of 10 we were dropped a street back and told to just walk through that area.

Trainees on front desk when asked to see duty manager trainee doesn't get them.

No club lounge.

No free waters like other Novotels and as we are members no welcome drink or upgrades this is poor branding etc

New hotel so they say, poor execution in finishes NOT up to normal standards and very poor design. Bathroom sink no space for 2 peoples items little own a family using these rooms.

Bed is hard and uncomfortable! Be warned. Stayed in darling harbour for 3 nights piror to coming to Christchurch. One brand big difference.

I can't believe the difference between the brands, I am questioning our membership and we have been loyal for over 10 years. It's not good enough.

the IHG crown is just over and looks a lot easier to access I will be staying here next time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AskAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear AskAndrea,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is with great disappointment that I learn it was not the amazing one we would have hoped for you. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. This is certainly not the service we would expect for our guests and we are truly sorry about this.

I am really concerned that taxi and uber drivers were not bringing you to the hotel entrance as it is accessible directly from Colombo Street beside the Cathedral Square. This review in TripAdvisor is not connected to your reservation and I would like to follow this up appropriately by communicating with you directly so that we can find the best possible resolve for you. As a valued Accor loyalty member, I would like to take personal responsibility for ensuring that this is taken care of and I would encourage you to email me directly on H6592-GM@accor.com with your reservation details. I hope I will be able to continue the conversation with you.

It is wonderful that you have had great experiences at our sister property at Darling Harbour and that their team looked after you well. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you that kind of experience here in the future.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Dean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews