We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We recently had a one night stay here and I was surprised at all the damaged buildings and construction in the area as a result of the earthquake 6 years ago. Check in was quick and efficient and we were lucky enough to score a late 4pm checkout on the Sunday as we had a late flight. Our room was on the 7th floor and was great. My wife loves full length mirrors and was happy that the room had one! Everything was great, it had a comfy bed and nice bathroom, not overly big, but it did us. We had the buffet breakfast and found everything to be as expected, but the only downfall for me was the standard of coffee. The croissants were as good as you'd get in France and the egg station was a winner.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CJSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, Front Office Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear CJSYD,

Thank you for your review!

Christchurch is still in the process of rebuilding itself. This is very exciting for many people as we all look forward to the finished product. Buildings are being finished, new businesses are opening their doors and more people are coming to the city centre. I personally think that the city has a very bright future ahead.

We are pleased to see you were well looked after and that we were able to offer you a late check out on Sunday. Please accept our sincere apologies for the quality of coffee which did not meet your expectations.

Have an awesome weekend!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Novotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

the hotel was very good and its location to trams, bars and some restaurants. convenient. but overall I think Ch-Ch should have been rebuilt on a green site somewhere safer. I know it is a building site but it offers nothing for visitors except a view of rubble. went to Greymouth on the train it was well worth while, both ways. found a couple of nice bars and restaurants in town but would only stay 2 nights at the most.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank albert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, Front Office Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear albert c,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The hotel is indeed in a very central location close to several shops, bars and other businesses. I understand how you felt during your stay, but the city is constantly growing with more businesses opening in town. As time goes by, the city looks better and better and we are all very excited to see the city centre changing and growing every day. We look forward to having you staying with us again in the future to see all those changes.

Have a fantastic weekend!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Novotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We had dinner there, and have done a few times.
Good service, lovely view out to mountains.
It is good to be back in town again.
Menu has a reasonable range, and good coffee.
Ask for a window seat if booking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, Front Office Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Dave D,

Thank you for posting your review in TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed our restaurant food, location and service. I am sure the restaurant staff are happy to know they have met your expectations and delivered a good service. Window seats are indeed great! We hope to see you again soon.

Have a great weekend!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at the Novotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We are fans of Novotel and were not disappointed. Nice, quiet and comfortable, very good wi-fi, excellent buffet breakfast. The staff are very accommodating - the staff in the restaurant are particularly lovely.

Perfect location to walk around city attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvakiwihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, Front Office Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Luvakiwihol,

Thank you for your feedback!

Great to see we are ticking all the right boxes and taking good care of you during your stays. We look forward to your next visit.

Have a fantastic weekend!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Novotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

2 night stay for my brothers 60th. Adult son also stayed in a separate room one night. I used my free accor night on one of the nights and wanted to change my free breakfast , staff were more than accommodating and nothing was an issue. Excellent service overall, free drinks vouchers were appreciated and used ! Great central location, shame to see CHCH central CBD is still very quiet, quite sad.
Rooms very good , breakfast buffet was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan6592, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Andrew J,

Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.

Congratulations to your brother on his 60th birthday! It is great to see you used your free night from your AccorPlus membership and that you had the opportunity to spend sometime with your family. I am pleased we were able to accommodate your request and that our service ticked all the right boxes.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Leo and the Team at Ibis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
0.1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
683 reviews
2.2 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
943 reviews
0.9 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,391 reviews
0.5 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: RM558 - RM974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing