We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1 Night Stay!”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a delightful motel to stay if you ever are in Christchurch. We booked a Superior Spa Studio unit for $139 per night which I thought was a brilliant price. It was modern and clean plus our unit was roomy enough and the reception lady was friendly and helpful. Perfect really for our needs, plus a choice of cereal or toast for brekky!! After an enjoyable night's sleep we were off, but if we ever need to stay in Christchurch again we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 623 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

This was where we spent our final night in NZ. It was surprisingly well presented and clean. We couldn't help thinking about the reception's comment that the last coupon in our room 'were rabbits'! The shower had a dome over it - assumably to keep condensation in - which felt quite claustrophobic to be inside. There were not enough towels and floor coverings for the bathroom. The DVD selection was geared toward kids and was quite old. The reception lady seem disconnected and disinterested. The heating unit kept on pumping out cold air and we woke up cold rather than warm. All in all it was a nice place - just a couple of things that could be fixed / improved...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Had one of the studio rooms up the top of the main building and it was perfect. The room is quite small but sufficient for what we needed. A bit tight around the fireplace and the bed but other than that great. The heat pump had been put on prior to our arrival so the room was lovely and warm which was perfect given that there was snow on the ground outside.
The location of this place is good...a short walk to some good cafes/restaurants.
We will definitely be staying here next time we visit Christchurch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

As a frequent traveller to Christchurch over the years, staying mostly in the centre of the city around the Cathedral, I was greatly sadened over the now "Red Zone" area that was my usual visit location. My criteria for accomodation in Christchurch now includes a low rise building that is wooden within close walking distance to a cafe, shops etc. The Merivale Manor is all this and so much more. The service is excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the overall stay is good value. I have stayed here now 3 times since the Feb 22 big quake and will continue to do so forever more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is an old heritage home converted into hotel. We rented family studio for our two days stay in Christchurch. The room was large with high ceiling, nice & clean with full kitchen. The Merivale Mall (with a super market) is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The owner was caring and helpful. It is value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
2.0 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,990 reviews
1.6 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,391 reviews
5.8 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.0 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: RM554 - RM855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing