We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merivale Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Diplomat Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merivale Court Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milano Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adelphi Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Colonial Inn Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
549
143
33
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
143
33
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housebreakfast cerealspeacock suitespa studionew zealandmerivale mallpapanui roadcity centrefree wifiold houseminute walksouth islandnz holidayroad noisevisiting christchurchmain roadfriendly owners
Filter
Updating list...
676 - 681 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I really wish I could give Merivale Manor 10 stars!!! Mike the owner went above and beyond in every way possible to make sure we were comfortable while we were staying in Christchurch. When we arrived my uncle had wanted soda water and ice, Mike brought some from his own home for us. My aunt wanted to do laundry and she was told to leave the clothes in the dryer while we were out, and when she came back they were folded neatly in her room. We ordered take away one evening and he offered to go pick it up!

My husband, parents, and brother stayed in the two bedroom enormous manor. It was almost like having our very own luxury home to stay in, with a huge sitting area. The manor is located near quite a few wonderful restaurants and cafes, all within walking distance.

We had a wonderful time and would recommend the Merivale Manor to everyone traveling to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Though we only stayed for 1 night I found this accommodation very nice. The owners were very nice and were very helpful. I had originally booked two nights, however due to Christchurch being pretty much 'closed down' due to the earthquakes I cancelled our second night and drove to Queenstown a day early, and the owners had no problem cancelling our booking. The rooms had everything we needed and the spa was very relaxing. The location is also great, about five min drive into the city and lots of restaurants close by.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I chose a room in the Colonial Home, rather than a unit, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The service was great from our hostess Bev, who also arranged for another night at the end of our stay. Will definitely choose to stay there again when we return

Room Tip: Lovely quiet rooms in the Colonial Home, excellent modern showers
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Merivale manor was about the only motel where the owners, (Mike and Sam) would tell you to help yourself with milk and bread from the office whenever you run out. Laundry facilities are available complimentary. We had stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms, like the bathrooms are large,spacious and modern. It definitely felt modern and as the other traveller has pointed out was furnished with quality products. The Spa bath (Jacuzzi) was great. My only qualm was with the shower which for whatever reason started acting up on the second day. It would be hot one minute and cold the next without adjustments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road as they will be quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We arrived very late here , got Mike out of bed but he was very helpful and booked us in cheerfully , even booking a taxi for the morning without muttering or complaining. The room was large and airy , the bathroom large and well appointed. Everyhting worked well and we were sorry to leave

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawardTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews