We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel experience ever!”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Wow, this place is amazing. We are just passing through Christchurch, but this motel makes me wish I were staying longer! As a germaphobe, cleanliness is of utmost importance. The room kitchen and bathroom were spotless! We also are given breakfast with tea and a bodum coffee press right in the room!
Laundry is available for free (detergent as all) and it feels very clean (not like a laundromat). Free wifi, flatscreen TV with a DVD player and iPod dock. Who knew motels could be so comfortable?
I would definitely recommend this to anybody and stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 553 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

We love the stay! The building is beautiful, in great location with restaurants and bars down the street. Mike was fun and helpful. The room very clean and quiet, a slightly small but in general great value! I love the books in the corridor with stories and paintings of old buildings in Christchurch that were damaged in the earthquakes. Pity we didn't come earlier.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our first stop on arriving in NZ was Christchurch and we'd booked at Merivale Manor given the review and it's proximity to everything. We were not disappointed.

I was greeted by Samantha who after giving me places to go and letting me know what's in the local area showed me to our room and walked me through everything there.

The room was great. Nice and clean and warm (considering the rainy cold weather outside it was nice to retreat to somewhere warm) and a good size. We were able to breakfast both mornings before heading out to explore Christchurch.

On checking out, Samantha and Michael told me about a great place to visit to see seals and their pups and it was amazing!

I couldn't recommend this place enough to people! The location, the amenities and most of all the hosts make it a great place to stop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeforanotherbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I loved our stay here. Clean, quiet, modern, everything you needed provided, warm and helpful staff, couldn't really ask for more. The house is so pretty and the gardens were stunning, topiary like I've not seen in a long time. I'm really looking forward to coming back to Christchurch and staying here again!!

Room Tip: We had a family suite upstairs, slept 5, very quiet and sooo comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed in a very nicely decorated and cosy studio apartment. Totally love the design of the place! The apartment was clean too and very modern looking. Checking in with Mike was great and he told us everything we needed to know. The room had cereals too and Mike gave us bread and milk. Location wise- very close to Merivale Mall where u can grab food at. A pity we only stayed for a night, would love to stay there again next there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith08_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
665 reviews
2.0 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,947 reviews
1.6 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
5.8 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.5 km away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: RM532 - RM921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing