We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
568
146
33
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
146
33
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house breakfast cereals peacock suite merivale mall new zealand papanui road city centre free wifi old house spa room minute walk away from the road south island road noise motel units visiting christchurch lovely hosts
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Located in the neighborhood of Merivale lies a wonderful Guest House, with superb rooms and exceptionally friendly host and hostess. Easy-going, helpful and with a really good sense of humor they make you feel very welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This time we stayed 3 nights in the Farr suite but we have stayed in various suites since 2014. Great rooms in the main building and at the front.
Handy location in an excellent part of the city.
Wonderful friendly hosts.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: We preferred upstairs at the back but all rooms are comfortable
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rodaway78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Stayed 2 nights in one of the rooms you see flanking the driveway entrance. 10-20 metres away is one of the busiest main roads in Christchurch. Traffic noise is a real problem right in to the small hours and sleeping was difficult, also because the bed was not very comfortable (nothing like a 4.5 star bed). Room was clean,bathroom was nicely done, free wi-fi, and provided with some milk, bread and jams, instant coffee, tea and 3 boxes of cereal to choose from. This was not replenished, nor was the room serviced at all during the stay. So this is not a 4.5 star hotel level of accommodation, more like 3-star motel (although most I have stayed in service the room daily, and reasonable to expect that in this price bracket). If advertised as such, would have been fine - wouldn't actually have booked because the presentation and the price led me to believe it would be quite a treat. Far from it.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on driveway - perhaps check with motel rather than via any 3rd party where you get what you are given.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fundayswithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here twice and both times we found the room comfortable clean and welcoming. The hosts were very sociable and helpful they gave us great recommendations for dinner.we would highly recommended this place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TaniaK840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We spent two nights at Merivale Manor en route to Aoraki | Mt Cooke and couldn't have found better in Christchurch. The original Manor homestead has been completely refurbished whilst maintaining it's original 'old world' charm. Our en suite room was airy, tastefully furnished and functional with a small kitchenette/living room and separate bedroom. The rooms and grounds are spotlessly clean and the manager and staff couldn't have been more helpful with tips on where to eat, helping with transport arrangements, etc. The Manor is within easy walking distance of a small shopping and restaurant district and the the rest of the city is easy to reach by bus, taxi or uber. Christchurch is still recovering from its recent tragic events but we found people positive and friendly - rebuilding their lives and beautiful city with true Kiwi resilience. If you have some time in the city, walking around the central botanical gardens,visiting the Canterbury Museum and eating at the 'pop up containers' reconstruction district are all worthwhile.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank abarao2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews