We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of The Classic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Classic Villa
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Villa was very quaint and comfortable! The hostess at the time we were there (in November), Nonni, was extremely friendly and accomodating. She was also very helpful in providing suggestions to eat and explore around Christchurch and the surrounding areas that were not impacted by the earthquake.

The food was delicious and nutritious. The cheese selection was great, though a larger warm food selection would've been even more ideal!

We stayed in Room No 1, which was very spacious though it was the furthest from the dining / internet area. The fireplace and heater provided sufficient heat, and the washroom was very clean and neat (the shower is also spacious). Laundry service provided by the B&B was also very convenient as we had travelled for a week already.

Be warned that the Villa is close to the city center core which was heavily impacted by the earthquake, so getting to the hotel with your GPS may be tricky due to blocked roads nearby. The location is ideal otherwise. It is also very close to South Hagley Park, which is also very ideal for runs and walks.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room 1 is very close to the parking lot; good for moving luggage and getting out of the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    56
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
168
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The owner was fantastic! He cooked a beautiful breakfast and was super flexible in terms of our check out time when we asked for a late checkout. The location is great, wifi is complimentory and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The Classic Villa is definitely a place we would recommend in Christchurch!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a small boutique hotel with loads of atmosphere - it used to be an old Rectory. We had a lovely big room during our first two nights (room 1) – others are smaller and if you can get that room 1, I would recommend it. The rooms include a very big step-in shower.

The hotel has a big breakfast/coffee area and you can help yourself to tea and coffee whenever you want. The quality of the breakfast is brilliant. There is Madeira wine near the rooms that guests can help themselves to, which is a lovely touch.

We stayed altogether for 3 nights – 2 nights initially and then another night later on before we flew home from the airport. For most of the time an absolutely lovely lady “Nonni” looked after us (not sure if this is the right spelling of your name, Nonni). She couldn’t do enough for us and is so fascinating to talk to. A wonderful hostess.

There is one reason I can’t give this an excellent rating is that the owner Peter has not provided information that is desperately needed. After the earthquake and subsequent problems, the centre of Christchurch is in bad shape and many buildings have been “red stickered” which means they are considered unsafe. So many restaurants and shops have moved elsewhere. Also, many roads are closed and it appears this changes often. We had to fend for ourselves and Peter did not provide a list of restaurants and where they are and how to drive there. The only thing he did was when we asked him he suggested one restaurant. When we got there it was totally full and it took us nearly an hour to find another one which was open/had tables. It seems other hotels are providing lists of restaurants and how to get there and we strongly suggest that Peter does this.

For tourists going to Christchurch you should realise that not much is open in the centre. This hotel is opposite the arts Centre, which is closed and so is the art gallery. The Botanical Gardens are as beautiful as ever, but all the buildings within its precinct are closed.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterm8, Manager at The Classic Villa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
My apologies to Lynn. We do have a list and menus of all Restaurants that are available and open.
I possibly thought she had seen this. My sincere apologies.
We also have a Visitor Point Brochure Rack with all attractions that are up and running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Nice comfortable room and hotel. Great location to the once thriving cbd. Only negative is the wireless which runs haphazardly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

we only had a short stayover in Christchurch but we decided to try and find accomodation that was close to the CBD that had not been affected by the earthquakes (this in itself is quite a challange).

The Classic Villa was in perfect condition and seemed to be not effected by the earthquake at all.

the rooms were great, bathoom was big and clean. the room was spacious.

The breakfast was a highlight of this b&b. The owner took pride in both the quality and the appearence of the breakfast. Very Impressive.

All in all i would have no problem staying at the Classiv Villa again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.8 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.2 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Villa

Property: The Classic Villa
Address: 17 Worcester Blvd | Christchurch Arts Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price range (per night): RM536 - RM1,171
Hotel Class:5 star — The Classic Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Classic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Villa Hotel Christchurch
The Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing