We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment
Ranked #83 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Jan and Jennifer could not have been more accommodating and helpful as we started our vacation on NZ's Southern Island, and the apartment suite is quite comfortable with a sophisticated decor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

A luxurious bed and breakfast in a nice quiet street in Christchurch. It's a very peaceful location and a lovely stylish building.
Close to most amenities and a short walk to the bus stop.
The hosts were very friendly and accommodating.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had initially booked two long weekends for September 2011 at The Chester, for England's originally planned RWC games. Games were switched to Dunedin and Jan, our host, immediately released us from any obligation, which was a generous gesture considering we had reserved the accommodation a year earlier. That seemed totally unfair, so we reached a compromise and we stayed there just one long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Jan & Jennifer were extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable and the eating arrangements suited us very well. The Chester is located close to Christchurch Centre (which is closed, of course) but we found plenty of things to do - Hagley Park, The Avon River walks, Canterbury Museum etc. There are still plenty of restaurants/cafes open close to the centre and we enjoyed some good meals. We were really pleased that we kept Christchurch on our itinerary and we thoroughly recommend The Chester as a convenient, comfortable and friendly place to stay. Good Luck Christchurch!
'TnJuk'

Room Tip: There's just one double en-suite room with a dining room in this apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnJuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

we past our last night in New Zealand in this lovely appartment easy to find and a 10-minute walk from downtown of christchurch. The hosts are hospitable and very good advice to find the rental car , petrol station and to go to the airport before leaving new zealand.

We past a good night and have a good breakfast even if we would have liked to take it with our guests to discuss with them a little more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Self-contained B and B accommodation on quiet street within walking distance of central Christchurch. Continental breakfast is brought to your room or left in fridge for you to have at your leisure. Large, clean room and pleasant and helpful owners. Eating places nearby without need to go into Christchurch.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalbergia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
3.3 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.9 km away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.1 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,278 reviews
1.1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Bed & Breakfast Apartment

Address: 341C Armagh Street | City East, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: RM 474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chester Bed & Breakfast in Christchurch, New Zealand, offers all modern comforts and amenities. It is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the Christchurch City Centre, restaurants, casino and perfect for holiday or business when you are in Christchurch. Relax in an entire floor, consisting of a large elegantly furnished bedroom with super king size bed which can be twin confiqured opening out onto a private terrace. The room has a luxurious en-suite bathroom and breakfast/dressing room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing