We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Inn Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Adelphi Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Camelot Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Milano Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Carlton Mill(Christchurch)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (69)
    Filter reviews
    69 results
    Traveller rating
    19
    31
    16
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    19
    31
    16
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslady at receptionone nightroad noisea lot of noisegood sizeroom was cleanwould definitely stay here againkitchenettebedroommotelpapanuicitykeyssinkheatingluggagenz
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    41 - 46 of 69 reviews
    Reviewed 10 September 2015

    We used this as our base to see Christchurch and some friends that live about 25mins minutes out of town. It is a really good spot on Papanui Rd. We walked everywhere. Most importantly it was so incredibly clean. It may not have all the fancy 5 star trimmings but my gosh i dont think ive ever stayed anywhere as clean. Made my OCD mum feel right at home. We did have a weird situation where the owners got mad at us for our late check in, even though we requested it and called 3days before to confirm. But other than that it was perfectly suitable.

    Room Tip: Low rooms would get car head lights, but the higher rooms only have stair access.
    • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Emkaloma
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 July 2015

    We have come from Rotorua to Christchurch to check out north Canterbury to permannetly relocate here. The location of the Colonial inn Motel has been perfect, easy to find, close to the CBD and restaurants. The room was very comfortable, warm and spacious for two people. Would definitely stay here again!!

    • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank AjandJ9
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 July 2015

    This was a great little place to stay. Very close to the inner city older decor but very clean and warm. The heater was already on for us when we arrived.
    Traffic is a little noisy in the morning but it was a week day so that's to be expected.
    Had very good wifi as well.

    • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Annie61NewZealand
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 March 2015

    Although these motels are a bit dated, we knew this as we had stayed there previously. We were surprised at the price as we were aware of accommodation shortages in Christchurch because of the rebuild. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. It is very handy to the city centre, which meant we could walk in and see the rebuild which is happening. It was sad to see the city centre so damaged (this was the first time we had seen it since the big quake). We are used to walking so for us it was not a problem but for some it may be. (We probably did a 6km loop). It is near to the casino, Carlton corner, The Bog - an Irish bar.

    Room Tip: We were fortunate to have a room away from the road - those close to the road may have been noisy.
    • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lenore H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 March 2015

    this was the first time, i came to christchurch, a place suffered earthquake just 4 years ago. everything looks like peaceful, when i stayed at this clean and tidy inn. not far away from 4 season supermarket, full of sunlight, housekeeping did all her could do to take care of her guests, as well as the inn has a very warm and kind proprietress.
    這是我第一次來到南半球的基督城,整座城市給我非凡的英倫風情。儘管他們告訴我,這座城市不久之前才遭受過一場嚴重的地震。放眼望去,滿街的工人,辛勤勞作,有豎立著的巨幅廣告向路人宣告,感謝來自世界各地的援手,幫助這座城市重建。這家旅館就坐落在市中心的鬧中取靜之處,生活設施齊全,打掃得非常乾淨,天天有服務員免費整理房間,並添置日用消耗品。老闆娘來自中國廣西,人非常得好客,每天有免費得牛奶贈送。有一天,因為某間房的住客轟趴聲音大了一些,老闆娘第二天不僅親自道歉,並送上上好紅酒一瓶。如此周到的服務,不得不讓住客倍感貼心。好了,話不多說,再多的文字,再優美的表述統統抵不過親歷的舒適。如果下次還能來基督城,我還會選擇這家溫馨整潔的旅店。

    Room Tip: clean and tidy
    • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank cheese15
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews