We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Irish pub!”

The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 1,143 Restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Arranged to meet family here and what a good choice it was ! They had a good selection of food, with offers on everyday. The price of drinks was on a par with everywhere else we had been. The staff were friendly .

Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018


Thank you for your recent visit to The Bog, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Go raibh maith agat agus slán go foill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

..... Of Guinness. A very pleasant old world style bar with an excellent range of beers and s good bar snacks menu. We had an enjoyable hour or two chatting and we could hear each other as we weren't drowned out by music..

Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018


Thank you for your recent visit to The Bog, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Go raibh maith agat agus slán go foill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

I thought i would order the Tasting plate, well there was enough to feed about 3 people. Great value for money.
The staff were great and live music was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justincash3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018


Thank you for your recent visit to The Bog, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Go raibh maith agat agus slán go foill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We went to The Bog as a group of 16 to celebrate a victory in the cricket tournament we are playing in Christchurch. The Bog had ordered a meal deal to participants in the tournament, so it seemed appropriate to support them. It took nearly 1 1/2 hours to get a waiter to serve us, and then the same amount of time for the food to nearly arrive. Twelve got their meals, a thirteenth had to send his back for 30 minutes because it wasn’t correct, 2 of us waited another 40 minutes because they couldn’t find our order and our 16th member got his once everyone was finished eating.
It is not a cheap establishment, and food quality is good, drinks aren’t cheap(par for the course in Christchurch) , but they are horribly under staffed, especially when busy. Tables take forever to be be cleared once guests leave.

Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Hi Bull5eye,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing to dine at the Bog. Secondly we ask you to accept our sincere apologies for what happened on this night in question.

Our had chef had a serious personal problem arise and had to leave to go home immediately, our sous chef was on holidays and we were left with our 2 commis trainee chefs. We found this a difficult night and we powered through as much as we could to try make everyone happy to a standard that we set ourselves. Like i said we found it difficult without our 2 main chefs. If you ever do come back please make yourself known to myself or Kelly and we will honestly make sure your experience is better than your last one. We would love this opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Its not every day someone has a private matter arise and needs to leave work but unfortunately this is real life and we cant pick and choose when stuff like this happens. Thankfully this was the only time its happened and we hope for it not to happen again in the near future. We hope you understand our difficulty on this matter.

Go raibh maith agat agus slán go foill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

So don’t recommend this bar !!!! Rip off
St Patrick’s Day happy to take our money at the bar
We flew from Auckland to go out with friends for my husbands birthday and St paddies day
Waited 2 hours for plate chips
Then the bouncers had the gall to say that My husbands eyes weren’t open enough and we we’re walked out
My husband wears glasses and the young bouncer that asked us to leave was standing quite away from us didn’t even come over and talk to us just decided it was time for us to leave

We asked to speak with management but were
Declined
Another bouncer was called for back up ,,, ridiculous as our group was just gathering there stuff finishing our drinks and leaving
Even the tables around us were backing us up and couldn’t believe that we were being tossed out !!!

The Bog need to look at themselves were 50 something’s happy to responsibly enjoy ourselves and can’t believe you threw us out your loss
Your staff need proper training if they think a group of well behaved 50 something responsible adults enjoying themselves not drunk !!!! Need to be asked to leave cause someone’s eyes are not open enough

If you wanted the table all you had to do is ask !!!!
We’re now at Rat happy to serve us great food Great atmosphere

Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing