We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 * B&B. 5* people”

Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Porterfields is everything you want from a B&B. It is run by two wonderful people Neil and Susan. They are two very kind people who do everything to ensure that you have a happy and contented stay at Porterfields. The room we had was large and spacious with a king size bed and ensuite. Wonderfull views of the hills from one window and the bay from the other. Breakfast in the morning was lovely when Neil would give you all the advice you need about your destination that day. He is such a well informed guy. We had such interesting conversations. If there was any drawback I suppose that the steepness of Porterfield terrace ( it must have been 1 in 4 at least) and the spiral staircase if you have mobility problems. But the best thing about Porterfields is Neil and Susan. You will not meet two nicer people and our thanks go out to them for making our stay on the Otaga Penninsula such a memorable one.

Room Tip: The king size double room is fantastic for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

We arrived for a single night in the middle of an afternoon of driving rain and wind, to be met with real hospitality and assistance from Neil. Being the only guests (there are only two rooms) we had a sort of suite to ourselves to get dried out, sorted, showered and warm. We appreciated the fridge provided for guests on the landing as well as free wifi, coffee-making facilities and a most comfortable bed. Breakfast is continental, and ample. Access to the guest rooms is up a spiral stair that might, perhaps, be awkward for the less mobile; but we found Porterfields a real sanctuary.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

It is exactly a year since I boarded a plane from London to go to New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup, working as a rugby journalist. My first place to stay was Porterfields - the scare stories of city centre hotel prices had put me off, and anyway availability in Dunedin was scarce. Not to worry - despite being a 10 minute drive from Dunedin, it was worth the extra few minutes. After a long, long trio, Neil and Susan were the perfect hosts to be greeted by, going above and beyond the call of duty to make me feel welcome. Though justifiably mystified at me tapping away on my laptop at 4am most mornings (it was work, honest), they were always informative, but also understandingly discreet when they needed to be. I would say Neil knows enough about New Zealand, never mind Dunedin/Otago/the South Island, to keep most visitors sufficiently appraised. Great locatiion for exploring the Otago peninsula, and relaxing to come back to after touring there or further afield.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughGodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, and provide you with lots of good information about the surrounding area
We had to switch rooms, and found both very comfortable.
Breakfast, at the dining room table with the other guests (with Neil making the fresh coffee) is excellent. Neil & Susan are well travelled and have lots of stories to share.
Location, on the Otago peninsula, is very good. Ten minutes drive fom Dunedin and within 10 - 20 minutes of the places to visit on the peninsula.
There is no restaurant in Macandrew Bay in the evening, but the pub at Portobello along the road serves very good bar meals, and is a lively place which seems to be well used by the locals.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fin044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed for two nights and just loved it. Neil and Susan are incredible hosts and we had a lot of very interesting conversations. We had a very spacy bedroom with a most comfortable large bed and a great view. The very clean bathroom is ensuite and there are tea and coffee making facilities on the landing. Free wireless is available. Neil had a lot of good tips where to go and we went to see the royal albatross colony and booked a cruise on the Monarch where we got really lucky because we got to see a lot of wildlife in just two hours. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
19.5 km away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
4.9 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
469 reviews
7.1 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
637 reviews
7.2 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
746 reviews
7.1 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porterfields Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porterfields Bed And Breakfast

Address: 30 Porterfield Street | Macandrew bay, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Porterfields Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing