We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sprial Staircase”

Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We didn't end up staying at this place, as the bed and breakfast didn't state that the room offered was at the top of a spiral staircase. Therefore if you are like me with any form of disability please be warned as it doesn't stipulate that in the advertisement.

Room Tip: Okay probably if you are prepared to climb a spiral staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2016

To do justice to Porterfields, you have to start with the location.MacAndrew Bay on the Otago Peninsula is one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in, with commanding views across the harbour. The drive from central Dunedin takes about 20 minutes, and is right on the water's edge, very winding and narrow, and busy.
Dunedin is a city of very steep roads, and Porterfield Street is no exception, and that goes for the driveway to the house. This all adds interest. 4 wheel drive not needed!
The house itself is old and comfortable. There is a separate door to the accommodation, which is on the top floor, access to which is by a tight circular stairway.
Our room was large, and comfortable, with amazing views over the harbour to the West, and sunsets were gorgeous every night. One could see up to Port Chalmers, and cruise ships when berthed.
Hosts, Neil and Susan are salt of the earth. Well travelled, accomplished people, with a wealth of interesting conversation, and local knowledge.
Nothing was too much trouble.They even insisted on doing our washing.
We stayed for six days, our fond memories of which will always be with us.

Room Tip: Go for the large room with the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oinkymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

We stayed four nights in the larger room.
As reported by other reviewers, Neil and Susan welcome you into their home and are most interesting hosts. Very comfortable, quiet, and an excellent base for touring the region (but understand it is outside of Dunedin).
We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in smaller of the two rooms and were very comfortable. The quiet and peace is phenomenal. We can see the bay from the window. The wifi works great, the little frig is a help for the odd snacks and drinks. As other reviews have said, we liked the location to all on the peninsula and the town of Dunedin. Neil and Susan were a delight and very helpful with ideas to match your needs. They are enthusiastic travelers themselves and knowledgeable about the world. They both are generous and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

What a great place to stay while in Dunedin. Joanne and I are here for our final night on our stay in the area and have really enjoyed being here. Neil and Susan are very nice people and they keep a very clean and inviting house. Free Wifi and a great free breakfast prepared by Neil were both great add on to this wonderful stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room that we are staying in is pretty large. They gave us plenty of suggestions on where to go and what to eat which greatly helped us. This house is located right between the city of Dunedin and the end of the peninsula where all of the great wildlife tours are located.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 km away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
19.5 km away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
7.1 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
465 reviews
7.2 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
738 reviews
2.1 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porterfields Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porterfields Bed And Breakfast

Address: 30 Porterfield Street | Macandrew bay, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing