We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Park Suites(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwis Nest(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$91
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
0
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016

To do justice to Porterfields, you have to start with the location.MacAndrew Bay on the Otago Peninsula is one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in, with commanding views across the harbour. The drive from central Dunedin takes about 20 minutes, and is right on the water's edge, very winding and narrow, and busy.
Dunedin is a city of very steep roads, and Porterfield Street is no exception, and that goes for the driveway to the house. This all adds interest. 4 wheel drive not needed!
The house itself is old and comfortable. There is a separate door to the accommodation, which is on the top floor, access to which is by a tight circular stairway.
Our room was large, and comfortable, with amazing views over the harbour to the West, and sunsets were gorgeous every night. One could see up to Port Chalmers, and cruise ships when berthed.
Hosts, Neil and Susan are salt of the earth. Well travelled, accomplished people, with a wealth of interesting conversation, and local knowledge.
Nothing was too much trouble.They even insisted on doing our washing.
We stayed for six days, our fond memories of which will always be with us.

Room Tip: Go for the large room with the harbour view.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oinkymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

We stayed four nights in the larger room.
As reported by other reviewers, Neil and Susan welcome you into their home and are most interesting hosts. Very comfortable, quiet, and an excellent base for touring the region (but understand it is outside of Dunedin).
We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in smaller of the two rooms and were very comfortable. The quiet and peace is phenomenal. We can see the bay from the window. The wifi works great, the little frig is a help for the odd snacks and drinks. As other reviews have said, we liked the location to all on the peninsula and the town of Dunedin. Neil and Susan were a delight and very helpful with ideas to match your needs. They are enthusiastic travelers themselves and knowledgeable about the world. They both are generous and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

What a great place to stay while in Dunedin. Joanne and I are here for our final night on our stay in the area and have really enjoyed being here. Neil and Susan are very nice people and they keep a very clean and inviting house. Free Wifi and a great free breakfast prepared by Neil were both great add on to this wonderful stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room that we are staying in is pretty large. They gave us plenty of suggestions on where to go and what to eat which greatly helped us. This house is located right between the city of Dunedin and the end of the peninsula where all of the great wildlife tours are located.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Porterfields is everything you want from a B&B. It is run by two wonderful people Neil and Susan. They are two very kind people who do everything to ensure that you have a happy and contented stay at Porterfields. The room we had was large and spacious with a king size bed and ensuite. Wonderfull views of the hills from one window and the bay from the other. Breakfast in the morning was lovely when Neil would give you all the advice you need about your destination that day. He is such a well informed guy. We had such interesting conversations. If there was any drawback I suppose that the steepness of Porterfield terrace ( it must have been 1 in 4 at least) and the spiral staircase if you have mobility problems. But the best thing about Porterfields is Neil and Susan. You will not meet two nicer people and our thanks go out to them for making our stay on the Otaga Penninsula such a memorable one.

Room Tip: The king size double room is fantastic for the views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews