We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
215
181
46
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
181
46
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel facilities motel units the main hotel hotel section sports bar buffet breakfast spa pool place to stay new zealand one bedroom apartment three nights room was spacious visiting invercargill stayed here for one night town centre south island home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed here for one night on our driving tour of New Zealand and the options in Invercargill were rather limited. This hotel had cheaper motel rooms and the more expensive hotel rooms. We went for a large hotel room, which was accessed down long, drab corridors. The room was average, the pool area was below average and not very clean in the showers or jacuzzi and the sauna was not working. The customer service, on the other hand, was very good with a warm welcome at the front desk and the offer of a lift to town as we did not want to have dinner in the hotel, which was full with a noisy event in the conference centre. Perfectly average and OK for a one night stopover but needs some attention to detail and decor to brighten up the hotel and the reviews!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello Matthew
Thank you for your review, obviously not as good as we would like. I do wish to apologise for any lack of cleanliness in the pool area, that is unacceptable by our standards. I am pleased however that you found the team here to be welcoming.
I trust the rest of your South Island has been enjoyable.
Kind Regards Bryan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Stayed here for a conference. Could not lay one complaint. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great meals and all at friendly prices. Complimentary airport pick up and drop off was a extra bonus. Service, rooms and value all rated a 5.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Fluffybluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello Gaye G
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post this on Trip Advisor.
Kindest regards Bryan and the Ascot Park Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Mrs Retiredwino and I were on a coach tour travelling the South Island so hotels were all pre booked and not our choice. Thankfully we stayed at the Ascot Park. Our room was exceptional. The evening meal was a menu style and I chose the house smoked salmon for entree and the Moroccan spiced chicken with crisp skin and mint yoghurt dressing for the main. Both meals were delightful in fact the main was the best meal of the entire tour. Congratulations to the chef for a delightful meal. All aspects of the hotel were exceptional, I can certainly recommend a stay at the Ascot,

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Retiredwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Hello and thank you for your wonderful trip advisor review. We certainly appreciate it, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I trust you had a great South Island tour.
Kindest regards Bryan and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed one night in a motel unit, in the grounds of the hotel.
After 2 or 3 weeks of small, mostly individual motels or canpsites,this place was amazing.The hotel/ motel and grounds were huge.
The room was also very large,but clinical in the mushroom grey decor. It was clean and the bed comfortable,did for a night. Would choose to stay somewhere else though if ever this way again, as the place totally lacks any warmth or character.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hello and thank you for your trip advisor review. I appreciate you noting the cleanliness and condition of our Motel units. I do agree that the Motels are very neutral in décor. If it is something a little different you are after, may I suggest you try our newly refurbished Hotel accommodation, very classy indeed. We would love to be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards Bryan Townley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Four of us were there for a convention. Rooms were very comfortable with ensuite bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities in room. Television in room. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and service was excellent. I would stay again and would recommend to friends.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank b0bdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews