We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we stayed here for 2 nights - the rooms were exceptional and very modern and very clean and tidy”
Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Our room had 1 queen and 1 single in one room and a sofa bed in the lounge - had sky in both rooms and great curtains to knock out that early light - the bars and swimming pool were outstanding also the sauna and spa pool - the staff were extremely helpful and restaurants and bars were fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hello Rochelle
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kindest Regards Bryan and the Ascot Park Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed here for one night on our driving tour of New Zealand and the options in Invercargill were rather limited. This hotel had cheaper motel rooms and the more expensive hotel rooms. We went for a large hotel room, which was accessed down long, drab corridors. The room was average, the pool area was below average and not very clean in the showers or jacuzzi and the sauna was not working. The customer service, on the other hand, was very good with a warm welcome at the front desk and the offer of a lift to town as we did not want to have dinner in the hotel, which was full with a noisy event in the conference centre. Perfectly average and OK for a one night stopover but needs some attention to detail and decor to brighten up the hotel and the reviews!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hello Matthew
Thank you for your review, obviously not as good as we would like. I do wish to apologise for any lack of cleanliness in the pool area, that is unacceptable by our standards. I am pleased however that you found the team here to be welcoming.
I trust the rest of your South Island has been enjoyable.
Kind Regards Bryan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Stayed here for a conference. Could not lay one complaint. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great meals and all at friendly prices. Complimentary airport pick up and drop off was a extra bonus. Service, rooms and value all rated a 5.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gaye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello Gaye G
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post this on Trip Advisor.
Kindest regards Bryan and the Ascot Park Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Mrs Retiredwino and I were on a coach tour travelling the South Island so hotels were all pre booked and not our choice. Thankfully we stayed at the Ascot Park. Our room was exceptional. The evening meal was a menu style and I chose the house smoked salmon for entree and the Moroccan spiced chicken with crisp skin and mint yoghurt dressing for the main. Both meals were delightful in fact the main was the best meal of the entire tour. Congratulations to the chef for a delightful meal. All aspects of the hotel were exceptional, I can certainly recommend a stay at the Ascot,

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Retiredwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Hello and thank you for your wonderful trip advisor review. We certainly appreciate it, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I trust you had a great South Island tour.
Kindest regards Bryan and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed one night in a motel unit, in the grounds of the hotel.
After 2 or 3 weeks of small, mostly individual motels or canpsites,this place was amazing.The hotel/ motel and grounds were huge.
The room was also very large,but clinical in the mushroom grey decor. It was clean and the bed comfortable,did for a night. Would choose to stay somewhere else though if ever this way again, as the place totally lacks any warmth or character.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hello and thank you for your trip advisor review. I appreciate you noting the cleanliness and condition of our Motel units. I do agree that the Motels are very neutral in décor. If it is something a little different you are after, may I suggest you try our newly refurbished Hotel accommodation, very classy indeed. We would love to be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards Bryan Townley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.6 km away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
340 reviews
3.6 km away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
185 reviews
2.5 km away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Monarch Motel
Monarch Motel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
89 reviews
3.7 km away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#4 of 33 in Invercargill
147 reviews
2.2 km away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range: RM306 - RM611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Ascot Park Hotel Invercargill, South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing