We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
DarkSky sanctuary awaits you

From one of the few dark sky sanctuaries in the world with our knowledgeable guide Al (lifelong... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
robsta444
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Wonderfully arranged tour

Al was a perfect guide and we enjoyed his insights on astronomy a lot. The first night ended early... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Passenger19935526519
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot chocolate comfy chairs clear night milky way plenty of blankets rings of saturn stargazing tour birds calling laser pointer first night his enthusiasm clear skies once in a lifetime knowledgeable guide moon jen telescope
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From one of the few dark sky sanctuaries in the world with our knowledgeable guide Al (lifelong astronomy nerd) we saw Saturn & her rings, jupiter & his moons. Clusters, Magellanic Clouds, nebula & much more, while the kiwis & kaka serenaded us. We were kept warm & finished off the tour with hot chocolates! Highly recommend, as it was the highlight of our Stewart Island trip.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank robsta444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Al was a perfect guide and we enjoyed his insights on astronomy a lot. The first night ended early as the sky got too cloudy. We got another chance a few days later and got lucky with clear skies.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank Passenger19935526519
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Twinkle Dark Sky tour was a highlight of our trip to Stewart Island. Al was very knowledgeable and great at answering questions. Among our highlight of the night included seeing the creators of the moon, the rings of Saturn and the moons of Jupiter. Al showed us so many different stars and planets it was an amazing experience.

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank S-Walkers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 December 2022

We had the best night with Al and Twinkle Dark Sky Tours. They really have a great setup with comfy chairs, hot water bottles, wool blankets, binoculars and hot chocolate. This was a highlight of our time on Stewart Island and a must do if you have clear skies. Al was wonderful to work with, he called us to confirm right when he said he'd call, he was really professional and even offered to pick us up if we didn't have a car. The whole thing was educational, enjoyable, mesmerizing, awe-inspiring and if you're from the Northern Hemisphere you have to do it because you'll see things you'll never see in the north. Al is a veritable treasure-trove of knowledge about the night sky. You're in for a real treat.

Our minds were totally blown with seeing Saturn, its Rings , and its largest moon Titan (the only moon in the solar system with an atmosphere!). We also saw Jupiter and its moons Ganymede and Europa! Europa and Ganymede have liquid oceans under an icy crust and Ganymede is also the largest moon in the solar system - larger than the planet Mercury (which we also saw!).

There was also Matariki/Pleiades/Subaru, the planet Mars, the International Space Station, the Orion and Tarantula nebulae, and, my personal favorite, the Wishing Well cluster, plus the famous the Southern Cross (I love the CSNY song), the Coalsack nebula, the globular cluster 47 Tucanae, the Milky Way and of course the Large and Small Magellanic Clouds. Plus, an Aurora Australis appeared at the end as well (photo attached).

It was incredible that we got to see these objects on such a calm pleasant night with the birds calling in the distance as well. I was delighted we managed go on a tour after the weather prevented us from doing so on Wednesday night! Highly recommend! It was worth every penny and then some!

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank 212erina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 December 2022

Awesome experience, loved getting to see and hear all about the night sky, looking through the telescope was particularly cool

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank 737merryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews