We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tussock Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
24
21
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
21
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Admittedly this was the busy tourist season but the price $165 for a very basic room was excessive and certainly not worth it. Scarcely room to swing a skinny cat and the bathroom was up the stairs.
It did include breakfast but as someone who travel up to 8 months a year I have stayed in many other motels/b& B that were far cheaper and provided far more facilities. WOuldn't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IguanaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

We enjoyed a 2 day stay in November 2014. Merle & Cliff welcomed us with coffee and cake and were friendly and helpful, offering useful information about the local tourist attractions. The House of Wood (built completely of wood as you would expect) stands out from all the other properties around. Our bedroom with en-suite was very comfortable and met all our requirements. Breakfasts, selected from many options, were excellent. Merle also went out of her way to put us in touch with another B&B in Arrowtown where we were heading on to.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A big thankyou to hosts Merle and Cliff for a welcoming stay. Merle cooked a lovely brekky and she really went out of her way for me with a little personal issue I experienced. We were downstairs in a room with a queen bed which was much too firm for us, the bathroom was upstairs but was just ours and there were bathrobes we could use. A great location, a very short walk to centre of town. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a tour of South Island as we were going to Doubtful Sound. On our arrival Merle greeted us and showed us to a double room with on-suite.
The room was quiet and very comfortable. Merle invited us to dine with them as it was a quiet time and no other gusts were in that night. A delightful meal and friendly company. Next day before we left Merle booked our cruise for Doubtful Sound and prepared a picnic lunch.
We would highly recommend House of Wood and if we return to Te Anau we would not stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I want to pre-empt this review by saying that the owner of the House of Wood is lovely. Unfortunately, it's a bit harder to find something nice to say about this accommodation...

We had high hopes for the House of Wood - the place looks amazing on the website. When we arrived, we were completely underwhelmed (not a plank to be seen!). Our accommodation was not at the main house, but rather, a very tired and musty little bunker a few streets away. The tired, gloomy and bizarrely decorated place that greeted us was not at all what we expected - and things got worse pretty quickly. Along with a few fairly major hiccups - the central heating didn't work, and the hot water system had been shut off (no hot showers!), we were plagued with a range of minor issues. The owner forgot to take us through the convoluted process required to lock the doors; the remote for the tv didn't work; the whole house was rank with the smell of damp/mould; the bathrooms weren't clean (in fact, we were somewhat puzzled to find draws full of partially used soap in - literally 50 bars of used soap!). We discovered a hole in the laundry wall that had been plugged up with a pair of mens undies – innovative yes, but I can think of better options. The laundry itself was grimy and dirty, with rubbish, plastic bags and cleaning products stacked all over the place. The outdoor setting was mouldy and unstable - and an unfortunate little bird had expired, and was slowly decomposing, by the back door. Frankly, the whole place had a 'murder house' vibe, and we were glad that our days were spent far, far away...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ISLANDLOVER55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merle665, Owner at House Of Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

I am upset that the visitors did not mention any of these problems to us at the time and that it took them 11 months to write the review. I think calling it the "murder" house was harsh. We didn't kill the bird.
We had a problem with rain water coming into the house in places and had it fixed but the plumber was the problem.
They will be pleased to know that we have done major renovations on the cottage mentioned, and have a new kitchen, laundry and flooring throughout so that should solve the problems in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews