We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tussock Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shakespeare House(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$68
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
24
22
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
22
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We stayed here after completing the Routeburn track - only a few minutes walk from the bus stop in the main street. Greeted with a cup of tea and home-made biscuits on arrival which was an excellent touch. Bed was fantastic to sleep on after our hard trek!

To top it all off Merle and Cliff were a delight to talk to, and had excellent knowledge on the 'must-dos' around Te Anau.

Will be back next time we pass through Te Anau!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We have stayed in House of Wood twice. We chose it the second time because the owner Merle was so nice and helpful, and the place so unusual and comfortable. This time I had just broken my wrist the week before we arrived there, and Merle couldn't have been more attentive and accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone. The house is clean,very comfortable, and so centrally situated that we could leave our rental car and walk everwhere. On top of that Merle is very hospitable, and cannot do enough to make your stay a memorable one. Thanks to her I coped with my wrist, and didn't let it spoil our time in Te Anau.

Room Tip: Any are good, but the one with the views over Te Anau is best.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Merle is such a lovely lady, she was so understanding when we turned up late on our first night (all due to a mix up with lost luggage by flight company), and she was up at first light the next day to serve her amazing breakfast with home made bead which is so nice, just so we could catch our Doubtful Sound boat.
House of Wood was just how we remembered it, very homely, clean and welcoming. Just what you need after a long haul flight when you're feeling a bit jet lagged. The location of House of Wood is very good, just a short walk and you are in the main street of Te Anau and just another short walk and you are at the lake, so all very convienient.
During our stay Merle also helped by suggesting our onward accommodation in Invercargil (with Pat) and Dunedin (with Alex and Libby), both of which we booked and were very pleased with our stays at both.
Thank you so much Merle for all your help and understanding and sorry to have arrived so late.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JemWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Hosts, Merle and Cliff, were the best part of the stay. They are extremely nice, friendly, and were helpful with suggestions. The room was extremely small and basic but clean. There was no room to put anything, so quite inconvenient for a two night stay. Locations great for walking to towncente.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Returned back to see Merle and Cliff after 3 year break.Great to see them again but could only stay 1 night as they were fully booked.We had tried to book more in August 2014, which show how
Popular it is.Had a lovely en-suite bedroom and even better Dinner with them again. Yummie. Yummie.Once again a very enjoyable evening with Cliff telling us of personal experiences of Bert Munro, of Fastest Indian fame.
Sorry we could not stay a 2nd night. But the good news Merle recommend Shirley and Alistair friends of theirs .We had a very good stay with them.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a en-suite Bedroom.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews