We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take the cottage unless you are ok roughing it ”
Review of House Of Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House Of Wood
Ranked #27 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We did not stay in the main house but we were offered the "cottage" and it's not quaint like a cottage. It is a basic cinder block house that is in need of major updating. I will say it was very clean and kitchen was adequate and it would sleep 6 easily. Beds and linens need replacing.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Travelingatty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015

We stayed here after completing the Routeburn track - only a few minutes walk from the bus stop in the main street. Greeted with a cup of tea and home-made biscuits on arrival which was an excellent touch. Bed was fantastic to sleep on after our hard trek!

To top it all off Merle and Cliff were a delight to talk to, and had excellent knowledge on the 'must-dos' around Te Anau.

Will be back next time we pass through Te Anau!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We have stayed in House of Wood twice. We chose it the second time because the owner Merle was so nice and helpful, and the place so unusual and comfortable. This time I had just broken my wrist the week before we arrived there, and Merle couldn't have been more attentive and accommodating. I would recommend it to anyone. The house is clean,very comfortable, and so centrally situated that we could leave our rental car and walk everwhere. On top of that Merle is very hospitable, and cannot do enough to make your stay a memorable one. Thanks to her I coped with my wrist, and didn't let it spoil our time in Te Anau.

Room Tip: Any are good, but the one with the views over Te Anau is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Merle is such a lovely lady, she was so understanding when we turned up late on our first night (all due to a mix up with lost luggage by flight company), and she was up at first light the next day to serve her amazing breakfast with home made bead which is so nice, just so we could catch our Doubtful Sound boat.
House of Wood was just how we remembered it, very homely, clean and welcoming. Just what you need after a long haul flight when you're feeling a bit jet lagged. The location of House of Wood is very good, just a short walk and you are in the main street of Te Anau and just another short walk and you are at the lake, so all very convienient.
During our stay Merle also helped by suggesting our onward accommodation in Invercargil (with Pat) and Dunedin (with Alex and Libby), both of which we booked and were very pleased with our stays at both.
Thank you so much Merle for all your help and understanding and sorry to have arrived so late.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JemWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Hosts, Merle and Cliff, were the best part of the stay. They are extremely nice, friendly, and were helpful with suggestions. The room was extremely small and basic but clean. There was no room to put anything, so quite inconvenient for a two night stay. Locations great for walking to towncente.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.5 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.1 km away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
1 km away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
627 reviews
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Of Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Of Wood

Address: 44 Moana Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing