We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Te Anau”
Review of MacKinnon Room

MacKinnon Room
Ranked #11 of 35 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Travelling through Te Anau and was recommended to try Mackinnon's by our motel. Was very impressed by the service and friendly assistance from Michela who helped us choose a suitable wine. The food was excellent - would recommend the Vension main dish (melt in the mouth). It was a cosy, intimate atmosphere with the fire.

Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharama S, Manager at MacKinnon Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emma R,
Thanks for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, your dining experience, the Vension dish and the wine recommended by Michela. I am humbled to hear the impression Michela made during your stay.

I sincerely hope we have another opportunity in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Dharama Sena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for MacKinnon Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Fabulous food, Chowder was by far the best we have had dine bring in NZ .
Not much of a menu for kids but they still enjoyed the chicken tender meal with a side of vege .
Will definitely be back

Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharama S, Manager at MacKinnon Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jodie F
Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the food, especially the Chowder and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Dharama Sena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Great food in an upmarket restaurant. The fireplace with flickering flames, added to the ambience. We will eat again at McKinnnon's the next time we are in Te Anu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at MacKinnon Room, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Sherry
Thanks for your glowing review and time to place feedback. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We choose to have a full breakfast prior to heading into Milford Sound for the day. We recieved great service from our hostess Dee and the meals were both superb. The Eggs Benedict was the best my wife has ever eaten with thick slices of salmon. Even if you were not staying at Distinction its worth a visit. Thanks for an awesome breakfast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sundownerwestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at MacKinnon Room, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Sundownerwestcoast
Thanks for taking the time to review us and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and I am humbled to hear that Dee was such a gracious host. She has been with us for 25 years and is an important part of our team.
We hope to see you back again
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Beautiful food served in a cosy elegant space. Excellent service from Robin, who looked after us and was absolutely brilliant. Thanks again Robin.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beard45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at MacKinnon Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Beard45
Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am humbled to hear the personalised service offered by Robin, he is a valuable member of our team.
We sincerely hope to see you back again.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacKinnon Room also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to MacKinnon Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing