We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, friendly people”
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Lakefront Lodge is very comfortable and well located. We were warm and comfortable even in mid-winter. The studio unit was well-equipped and the breakfast nicely served and abundant. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bobbiewilson2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Lakefront Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Me & my husband stayed here for 2nights and we would definitely recommend this motel for anyone staying in Te Anau. The room was lovely and big and with a comfortable bed. Lakefront lodge faces the lake with beautiful views. Quick 5min walk to all the local shops and restaurant. The lady at the front desk was very helpful who answered all of our questions and recommended restaurants for us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Briana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here before and decided to return again on another trip to Milford sound. The service is great, the rooms are modern and clean and the beds are comfortable. The chocolates on the bed are also a great touch.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Lakefront Lodge is a long, single story motel structure with the short and office side facing Lake Front Drive and the lake, while the long side faces Mokoroa Street with a western view. There are a lot of accommodation options in the area. It is on the edge of the central district and so grocery stores, restaurants, shops and the iSite are all within convenient walking distance yet we are spared the noise of the nightlife. Diane offered a warm and friendly welcome and performed the paperwork necessaries quickly and efficiently. She escorted us down the paved drive/parking lot to our rooms where she showed us where things are in our unit and how they work. We passed a coin-op laundry enroute.
Each unit has 2 entrances. The vehicle is parkable right outside the principal unit key-lock door; no long hauls here. The other entrance is a patio door in a full glass wall which opens onto a pea gravel patio with its own wooden picnic table facing Mokoroa Street. Our travelling companions were lodged in the unit next door and it was not a sterile duplicate of ours but rather had some slightly different features.
The decor of our unit was taupe, textured wallpaper with the opposing wall chocolate coloured. The flooring was mottled charcoal grey carpeting with teak-look planks in the bathroom. Entering from the parking lot side, the kitchenette was on the left including a small fridge, a 2 burner stove top, a microwave oven and stainless steel sink. In the blonde cupboards below were found the toaster, kettle, coffee press, utensils, pots and bowls, place settings for 3, cutlery and washing up needs. The microwave was sitting on a box on the counter which had a lockable door facing outside. If the visitor chooses to order a breakfast, it is delivered into this lockable cupboard. Beyond the kitchenette, against the wall was a single day bed; beyond that a corner cupboard with a flat screen television above.
On the right of the entrance, opposite the kitchenette was the well appointed bathroom. A single sink in a vanity and sufficient counter space stood immediately to the right of the door with a large mirror above. Face cloths were rolled up in a corner and bath lotions were dispensed from pump bottles mounted on the wall. In the corner of the room stood a glass walled shower cabinet. The water pressure was strong and the water was hot. A dual flush toilet sat beside the shower, To the left of the entrance was the heated towel bar with fluffy towels in an eye catching red which were strong accents in the decor.
Beyond the bathroom on the right, opposite the daybed sat the queen sized bed, flanked by 2 side tables with lamps, covered by a duvet. Lavender sachets rest on the pillows We found the bed firm but comfortable and we slept well. The whole is shielded from the patio door street view by 2 squarish, oversized stuffed armchairs in a mid brown, suede-like fabric. Between the armchairs and the patio wall sat a round bistro table with 3 chairs. In the corner cupboard under the television, we found a spare electric space heater, a collapsible drying rack, an iron and ironing board. The unit was heated by 2 electric units and there was no air conditioning.
There were lots of nice decorative touches, the red bath towels, a sheaf of wheat. Outside, the beautifully manicured and maintained decorative borders with huge rose blossoms, dahlias etc. produced a picturesque and classy aspect.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Conanthelibrarian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Lakefront Lodge is a fabulous place to stay. The hosts were great and personable and customer focused. I stayed in a very comfortable 1 bedroom unit for winter. The kitchen was very easy to use. The bed was very comfortable and there was a spacious wardrobe. It was sited close to all amenities. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would like to see some multi-4 point plug trays to replace the plug pile ups.
Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TichJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.2 km away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: RM542 - RM815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing