We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A million miles from all worries”
other travellers have booked this property
Charming Bed & Breakfast cottage set in large leafy garden. BEAUTIFUL breakfast included in tariff
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Charming Bed & Breakfast cottage set in large leafy garden. BEAUTIFUL breakfast included in tariff
Nearby Waterfall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Charming Bed & Breakfast cottage set in large leafy garden. BEAUTIFUL breakfast included in tariff
Nearby Waterfall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Armidale, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

5reginald
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A million miles from all worries”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A million miles from all worries

Poppy’s B&B is what every B&B should be like. A little bit wonky and full of warmth and tender loving care.

Poppy and Jake are a delightful couple who do their utmost to make you feel welcome.

The breakfast is the absolute highlight, consisting of homemade bread, jam, preserves and eggs from the free roaming chicken. Prepared and served with love and a big smile by Poppy. It was an absolute delight. We did not eat again until dinner.

The cottage is cozy and warm (it was after all very cold) and the bed bolstered with an electric blanket, woolen blankets and a great duvet to disappear under. The bed is a double bed, which might present a little problem for bigger people. But there are two single beds in the front room.

We had a great stay and enjoyed watching the geese parade past our window every morning, always stopping to give us a friendly greeting.

We would love to go back for just one more delicious breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing and great hospitality”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed just one night on our way to the waterfall way. We were greeted by both Jake and Poppy who both made us feel very welcome. The cottage is just gorgeous, warm, comfortable and the shower is hot and strong. Poppy set our breakfast up in the room as the weather was little on the cool side for the garden, but we were given the choice of time. Breakkie was delicious, bread and jams home made and fruit salad and poached pears yum, we could have had cooked breakfast also if we wished. Thank you Poppy

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
344BillH
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This 150 year old former miner's cottage set in beautiful gardens on a country homestead at Armidale, NSW provides a perfect location for pure relaxation and is a short drive to all local attractions. It contains two bedrooms, one with a superbly comfortable double bed and one with two single beds . It is spotlessly clean , very quiet and has a full flowing hot shower . The hosts cannot do enough for you and provide magnificent breakfasts and dinners including fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice , home made bread and jams etc. The surrounding gardens are very pretty and come with roaming ducks, chooks , two friendly dogs and a cat.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomS928
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Poppy's cottage was the perfect place to arrive after a long (and rather beautiful) drive down the new england highway to Armadale. Set a short drive out of town in a fantastically well cared for garden, it was an oasis in the middle of the parie-like landscape that surround it. Poppy and her husband were so friendly and gave us a great recommendation for dinner that night, as well as a super breakfast the next morning. And even though we'd only just met them the night before, by the time we left it felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.