We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
21
7
0
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
7
0
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Excellent stay. Very quaint (and roomy) cottage. Gerarda and Tony were great and worked in perfectly with us to ensure our stay was a memorable one. Especially loved the log fire - only wished we had more time than the week we had.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCottage, Owner at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thanks so much for your review Richard B. You were the easiest guests for the week and we loved hosting your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We booked two cottages (Middle and Rose) for a sporting weekend in the country and were very pleased with the accommodation. Its not modern by any means, and is a good insight into a 19th century building fitted out in 1950s style.
It was clean, roomy and the kitchen had everything needed to feed to massing hordes.
Bedding was comfortable, floors creaky, and the gas fire kept us warm.
Middle Cottage was the pick in our eyes, though the kitchen in Rose Cottage was larger and brighter, albeit also a thoroughfare.
We'd stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank scotto_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCottage, Owner at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Hi Scotto,
Thanks for your review. We loved hosting your stay and yes you were a large group here for the B2B. We hope you were successful and will come again.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and found the location great with easy walking into Bathurst. Easy to find as well. The cottage was comfortable but quaint as you would expect. Would recommend for a short stay like ours but if you expect 5 star luxury this is not for you.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCottage, Manager at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Hi Keith,
Thanks for your review. We loved hosting your stay in our cottages. Bathurst has so much to offer for visitors and we delight in knowing you have enjoyed our city and your stay. We believe what you miss out on in 5 star luxury for a Bathurst stay you make up for in space, location and character in A Settlers Cottage.
We hope you will come again another time. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We booked the 140 Keppel Street cottage (on the left of the three adjoining cottages) but on arrival found it was terrible. A very old corrugated iron building and not refurbished that we could see. Very dark and gloomy inside. Only air conditioning in the two very poky bedrooms, certainly not enough for a cold place like Bathurst in winter and spring. Only other heating a wood fire. The "lounge" furnishings consisted of a single chair and a rickety couch covered with a torn sheet! It looked as if the furniture for the cottage had been collected from the side of the road. The entire cottage was run down and musty - we could not spend 10 minutes inside, far less sleep there. We contacted the owner who agreed to make a refund, but deducted 20% for "booking fees and commissions". The cottage is very overpriced. The owner had insisted we pay the full amount in advance, instead of just a deposit. We still feel ripped off!

Room Tip: Thee are no good rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nic v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed here for a weekend in April, and were extremely disappointed. It is very dark, and the decor dates from approximately 50 years ago with no updates since. It looks as though someones elderly relatives lived (and died) here and they have kept the same furniture and soft furnishings. This is not 'historic'- it is an owner who doesn't want to spend any money on much needed renovations (even a paint job and new linen!). Unfortunately it was a busy weekend, and everywhere else was booked out, otherwise we would have forfeited the cost (considerable- definitely way overpriced) and stayed somewhere else. The only thing going for it was the location- fairly central but quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeggyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyoli, Manager at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

We are so sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews