We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aspire Newcastle(Newcastle)
US$67
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$82
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Blackbutt Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Albion Hotel(Newcastle)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
451
483
143
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
483
143
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingthe crowne plazaworking harbourvalet servicea king spa suiteseparate bedroomharbour viewhunter riverwater viewsmall kitchenetteroom servicewater frontlounge areahotel restaurantthe ground floornobbys beachlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

I traveled to Rydges Newcastle for a business event - I was hosting a workshop for 25 people. The staff were rude, especially at the restaurant. After the event, 16 wanted to stay for dinner. We were told that we would have to have a limited set menu at $65 for two courses, and that would be our only option.

We were okay with that, so long as we could be fed quickly... as we had several people who needed to travel over two hours to get home. We preordered our meals at 4pm, to be served at 7pm were seated at exactly 7pm, and our mains were served at 8.45pm. Dessert was after 9pm and several people had to leave before it was served.

I wouldn't stay there again - the rooms were overpriced, and the service was poor.

Room Tip: King city suites are completely misnamed - they are not suites, they are small rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tashcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Tashcor,

Thank you for the review and for your time thought-out the week, pleased that we were able to come to an agreement. I do admit that your dining experience may not have been ideal, however I have to highlight the times mentioned in the review are and over exaggeration and conflicting to our direct correspondence.

It is disappointing to hear you have not enjoyed your time with us, however my offer still stands to welcome you back to Rydges Newcastle where I have every confidence you will have a much more positive experience.

Best of luck with your future events

Kind regards

Matthew Kent
General Manager
Rydges Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I stayed at the Rydges Newcastle for a week ending Friday 4 May 2018 room 029. fantastic ground floor room. all staff friendly and helpful. Very professional and friendly. Great location, great food and drink, fantastic staff. Recommend for sure.

Room Tip: All room s appear to be good. Great location.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjjackson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Rjjackson67,

Thank you for your glowing review. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service, pleased to hear that you experienced this. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

2 night stay room overlooking the harbour. Room was big enough and had great views and at night it looked really pretty. Pool from above looked great and access was easy. Staff super nice and friendly nothing was a problem. Valet parking extra but great and no trouble. Raining no problem complementary umbrella. Walk to all sites restaurants etc. More expensive stay but you are right in amongst it and easy to find and access.

We will definitely stay again and try and get a balcony room as photo opportunities are everywhere.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank tripreviewer149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Tripviewer149,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I surprised my husband with a 2 night stay at Rydges for his birthday with our two small children. From check in we had a very warm and friendly welcome . Carly was lovely to speak to, and even acknowledged my husband's birthday with a voucher at the bar for complimentary drink. The hotel room was very clean, tidy and very comfortable bed. We will definitely stay there again. The location is great and kids love the pool too!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lilly0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Lilly0530,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. Its so pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here! We do hope that your Husband had an enjoyable birthday. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a festival.
We were welcomed by the manager of the hotel who was happy to get us anything we needed. The manager was awesome!
The valet service was great, ready on time when called for and a good laugh out the front with the team.
The staff are extremely friendly and keen to give a helping hand, had no problems what so ever and beverages/food came on time always.
The buffet was the best buffet I have ever been to, food trays always full and hot, and the biggest variety of food, wow!
Rooms were extremely tidy, clean, comfortable and 5 star. Room service was quick and hot. Lovely balcony view.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Chelsea R,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews