We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown On Darby Newcastle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Clarendon Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Newcastle Beach(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$172
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Rydges Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
The Grand Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mayfield Motel(Newcastle)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Merewether Motel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
111
84
23
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
84
23
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarby streetgreat locationenclosed balconyeat streetstudio apartmentcafes and restaurantssecure parkingwell equipped kitchencar parkper nightyour doorstepfull kitchenspa bathhappily stay here againliving areamin walklate checkout
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about this motel was perfect, from the location, service and amenities. It is close to town, restaurants and beaches, ideally situated. The comfort and quirkiness was excellent. The garage was also excellent and the access to a variety of eating places on Darby St was helpful for us. Rooms were well set up with sitting room, desk space and a nice vista opening to a pleasant courtyard. Free and good wifi was a bonus. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are excellent
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davidtks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownonDarbymanager, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking this opportunity to leave your review of Crown on Darby, we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your return when next you have the chance to venture to Newcastle.
Thanks Again
Kate Wynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a spa apartment. The spa was not big enough for us both but my husband is 6'5 so that's not particularly surprising. The apartment was large and bright and quite lovely. The balcony overlooked Darby street and We had some lovely live music coming in the balcony doors on Sunday afternoon from buskers outside, but the bedroom is at the back so no street noise at all. There is plenty of room
throughout the entire apartment, but the bedroom itself is just a bedroom- everything else is outside the bedroom including closets, chairs etc which was not a problem. The bed was super comfortable. Booking, arriving and departing was a breeze and the garage was secure and easy to use. The location is great, Darby street fed and watered us a couple of times and it's a 10 minute stroll to the river side, or about $8 in an Uber. It's about 2.5km to Mereweather beach too so great location unless you desperately want to be on the river/beach front. We will definitely stay here again, especially if we score the great "stay 3 pay 2" deal that I found on their website.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownonDarbymanager, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thankyou for your review Natasha we are certainly spoilt being in our desirable location and our pay 2 stay 3 deal is particularly attractive when staying that extra night is an option.
We look forward to your return when you next have the opportunity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

This appartment is located in a neigbourhood with lots of restaurants and shops. The bedroom was facing railway street which is really quiet. The size of the appartment is very big for two persons. Friendly people.

Room Tip: bedrooms on railway street are very quiet
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff O, Reception at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you For taking the time to review Crown on Darby.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The location on Darby street is fantastic. For the price I expected to have our room serviced daily, no, only after 3 days! There was no plug for the bathroom sink so when I asked at reception I was told to leave the tap running! There is no bedside clock/radio.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltercam2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownonDarbymanager, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your review Walter however we have responded on the other sites that you have also left your review.
Crown on Darby is listed as serviced apartments with this being said we aim to keep our costs down in order to remain competitive in the Newcastle Market, we also find our regular guests prefer to be left alone somewhat while enjoying the sites Darby street has to offer therefore we only complete services every 3 days.
Crown on Darby staff are happy to supply guests with any additional amenities they should require.
Unfortunately due to safety reasons we have bathroom sinks that are designed never to have plugs this is something that was made into the design of the bathrooms so we cannot therefore change this.
In regards to clock radios we do have them but have found them to be un-useful and annoying as when you leave your apartment you take the room key from the power causing the clock radio to remain unset all of the time.
I hope we have answered all questions to the best of our ability and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Kate Wynn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Couldn’t fault crown on Darby, our room was immaculately clean,nice and quiet, beautifully styled,the bed was so comfortable and loved the bathroom. The location is convenient to so much in Newcastle and the staff were very helpful.Also loved the beautiful courtyard.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mareeNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staff O, Reception at Crown On Darby Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.
Crown on Darby is glad you enjoyed your stay and wish to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews