We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
East Port Motor Inn(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Hill Motor Lodge(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$71
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Paso Motor Inn(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$98
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber Resort(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Backpackers(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Holiday Park Accommodations(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Blue Resort(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaches Holiday Resort(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$209
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveller rating
277
420
176
70
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
420
176
70
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszebu barthe riverpolice stationbuffet breakfastroom servicestreet parkingroom was largeoverlooking the waterlate checkoutking bedstandard roomshopping centreport macschool holidaysbalconyviewssydney
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 995 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean. Large bed; sitting area and verandah with table and chairs. Staff were very friendly. Wonderful view over the water. If you do not want room service you will be given a $10 voucher for the room bar. Lovely large bath. Shower is in bath but can ask for handrails. Only issue we had were the pillows - way too soft, it was like nothing was there.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view and a high room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anne,

What a lovely piece of feedback, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts. The green voucher program is a really great initiative for guests and helps out the environment. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

I gave this hotel a score of 1 out of 5, purely for the reason it was clean.

We expected the Rydges to be a specific standard but sadly not. The rooms are very old. Chairs have obviously been recovered however you can see that it was done cheaply. Bathrooms are very warn, shower over bath, toilet continues to run when flushed. Have you ever seen the movie The Shinning? Well this hotel reminds you of the same experience.

This is not a cheap hotel plus they charge you a nightly rate for parking!!!!!. Thankfully we had dinner at a fantastic restaurant outside the hotel.
In the morning we read the website to see what the breakfast menu was like in the hotel. The menu lists a full a la carte breakfast menu. When we got down to the restaurant there was a buffet set up with pre cooked food and help yourself cereal. It was hard to get the cook to make us eggs and we had to go outside to get a coffee. When paying the bill we find that the breakfast cost $60 which was the most expensive bowl of cereal and 3 eggs. Not the breakfast the website promised.

We would have been better staying at a motel on the highway with a amber flashing light out front all night.
So disappointed in the standard which came no where near the price we paid $320 for just one night. Rydges surely you can't continue to tarnish your brand with this motel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to leave your feedback.
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and felt you were mislead with our breakfast offerings. There is planning in progress for updating our rooms and bathrooms and is a focus for us in 2018/19 along with updates to room amenities slated for the end of this year.

We have two restaurants located next to each other with one offering a buffet breakfast and the other offers an a la carte option.
This may have been where the confusion was caused. You can see from our other reviews that guests generally enjoy their stay with us and I want to ensure you have this same experience as well.

Please feel free to contact me should you return to Port Macquarie and I will be happy to make amends.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two days with our 8 months old bub.We were given a room with a broken aircon without even notifying us.The temperature cannot be increased above 22 Celsius which turns off the aircon immediately.

Once complained, the reason given was that " we are fully booked and cannot transfer you to another room tonight" which doesn't seem to be true.As a substitute an oil heater was given but it was not what we expected after paying morethan $500 for two nights stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Dasuni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Dasuni,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay with the faulty A/C unit.
Unfortunately we were not able to move your room that night and the oil heaters was provided.
Our maintenance teams have been made aware of your feedback and should you wish to return to Port Macquarie please don't hesitate to reach out to me so we can make amends for your stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Typical for Rydges, clean, comfortable, efficient hotel with good service.
This one actually has an excellent location with beautiful views.
Their restaurant can be recommended.
Get a room with sea view. It's a bit out of town, but it's worthwhile.

Room Tip: Chose sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gournemanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, We aim to match our location with good service and it's positive to hear you felt the same way. Our team will be delighted to know their hard work doesn't go unnoticed and your feedback will be shared to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Port Macquarie again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Staying here for two days in port Macquarie was great even though the apartment was rather dated the view was fantastic looking over the Hastings river to the ocean .must say great position in the middle of town ,you can walk to everything. And great coffee shop downstairs with excellent view . Fabulous to watch the sunsets.Do try with parking underneath .....

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank phillipk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan C, Front Office Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent stay with us, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking.
We are truly gifted with a great location with easy walking distance to everything as you mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Port again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews