We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: HELLO KOALAS SCULPTURE TRAIL, PORT MACQUARIE Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail is a fun and entertaining day out for people of all ages. There are over 56 one metre high fibreglass koala sculptures, dotted across the Port Macquarie-Hastings region, from the mountains to the sea. The hand painted and mosaic sculptures have been created by selected artists and offer a dazzling display of original artwork. Hello Koalas is a bold, ambitious and imaginative sculpture project, which celebrates one of Australia's iconic animals - the Koala. Above all, it is designed to generate a sense of fun and surprise for everyone who comes across one of the creatively decorated koalas resting in parkland, lazing by the river, waiting outside the shops, or playing with children. The Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail Guide is available at most Tourism outlets, including the Visitor Information Centre at the Glasshouse in Clarence Street, in Port Macquarie's CBD or you can download a pdf online before you arrive. The Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail is not owned by Port Macquarie-Hastings Council. The Trail is run by a private family company and the Hello Koalas sculptures are sponsored by local businesses and organisations to enable the Trail to be a free and fun experience for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The Hello Koalas are scattered around Port Macquarie, Wauchope & Laurieton and each has been artistally designed and sponsored by various businesses. It takes a while to find them all. If you drop into the Glass House Tourist Information Center in Port Macquarie, they have a map you can follow.

Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for describing the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail so well. We are currently preparing an updated Trail Guide for the summer months with three new Hello Koalas sculptures joining in the fun, making the current number 60! And there are more to come. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great idea"
in 19 reviews
"fun finding"
in 9 reviews
"local artists"
in 9 reviews
"public art"
in 4 reviews
"great initiative"
in 9 reviews
"great fun"
in 14 reviews
"information centre"
in 5 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"koala hospital"
in 14 reviews
"visiting port macquarie"
in 4 reviews
"sea acres"
in 5 reviews
"sculptures"
in 60 reviews
"koalas"
in 241 reviews
"trial"
in 4 reviews
"awareness"
in 6 reviews
"glasshouse"
in 10 reviews
"wauchope"
in 6 reviews
Filter

46 - 50 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Dame Koala is the Queen of the Koalas in my opinion but I recognise I am biased because my sister-in-law Tracy Smith is the artist. We travelled a long way to see the Dame (from our home in Darwin) and we had fun finding her, but it was definitely worth it. She is lovely! If we'd had more time we definitely would have looked for more koalas. The Hello Koalas Trail is a great idea and I applaud the organisers. It's a terrific bonus for Port Macquarie.

Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for visiting Port Macquarie from Darwin and of course, great reason to do so. Dame Koala, designed by Tracy Smith, is one of our signature images, and we have used it on our TripAdvisor page since we joined several years ago when we launched the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail in 2014. Hope to see you back in our town sometime soon. Perhaps Tracy might create another Hello Koalas sculpture before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Trip back to Port Macquarie so went looking for more Koala sculptures and found many more since May this year. Enjoyable activity...... they are everywhere!! Kids and adults love it. And its free.

Thank janS79NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

So glad your latest visit has been successful in spotting new Hello Koalas sculptures. We now have 60 on the Trail.
It is thanks to the local businesses that sponsor their own Hello Koalas sculpture that allows us to offer this public art trail for free and we love seeing people of all ages out and about exploring the Trail. Thank you for your comments - music to our ears!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Clever idea!! We loved spotting these beautifully painted koalas all over town. Having the brochure with all of the koalas listed and a map with their location was great. By keeping a look out and trying to spot the koalas it's a great way to see parts of Port Macquarie that you might of otherwise passed by.

Thank AnR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

When we were planning the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, we were intent on leading visitors to discover our region and delightful places that otherwise might be missed - so your review is very pleasing to us because we have succeeded with one of our key objectives. And another one too - having fun! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others who are planning to travel to Port Macquarie. We are proud of our Hello Koalas sculptures welcoming people to our hometown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I will remember Port Macquarie on our trip as being the lovely place with beautiful surf beach with the painted Koalas Sculptures.

Thank Iansheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

And that's a lovely thing to say! Thank you. We hope you captured your memories with lots of photos to share with your family and friends. If you follow the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail on Facebook you will be able to see the new Hello Koalas sculptures arrive for the summer. And perhaps come back for another visit. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing