We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chasing Koalas”

Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: HELLO KOALAS SCULPTURE TRAIL, PORT MACQUARIE Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail is a fun and entertaining day out for people of all ages. There are over 56 one metre high fibreglass koala sculptures, dotted across the Port Macquarie-Hastings region, from the mountains to the sea. The hand painted and mosaic sculptures have been created by selected artists and offer a dazzling display of original artwork. Hello Koalas is a bold, ambitious and imaginative sculpture project, which celebrates one of Australia's iconic animals - the Koala. Above all, it is designed to generate a sense of fun and surprise for everyone who comes across one of the creatively decorated koalas resting in parkland, lazing by the river, waiting outside the shops, or playing with children. The Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail Guide is available at most Tourism outlets, including the Visitor Information Centre at the Glasshouse in Clarence Street, in Port Macquarie's CBD or you can download a pdf online before you arrive. The Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail is not owned by Port Macquarie-Hastings Council. The Trail is run by a private family company and the Hello Koalas sculptures are sponsored by local businesses and organisations to enable the Trail to be a free and fun experience for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We love Sculpture Art Trails. We love a reason to explore the local area and find some unsung treasures. In this trail, we would never have gone to the Museum (excellent) or to the Sea Acres Rainforest Centre (excellent). We love how all these Art trails are multiple purpose - to raise awareness, to showcase the area and to highlight local artists. Well done!

PS This is our fourth trail (Rhinos in Sydney & NSW, Cows in Perth & Bollards in Geelong) and it was really comparable and enjoyable - we found all the koalas except for 2 that were behind locked doors for Christmas.

Thank spinneretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

What a great review - thank you! Ticks all the boxes. We readily agree that sculpture trails are an ingenious way to enjoy your surrounds, discover new places, meet interesting people along the way, listen to local stories, learn about the environment and be inspired by unique pieces of art. We are very fortunate to have such a rich artistic community on the Mid North Coast. And our Koala Hospital is a national leader in koala conservation and research. So thank you for sharing your response to the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail - I have sent this review to both the Museum and Sea Acres - they are key partners on the Trail - and they deserve lots of accolades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great idea"
in 18 reviews
"fun finding"
in 8 reviews
"clever idea"
in 4 reviews
"great initiative"
in 8 reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 4 reviews
"information centre"
in 5 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"great fun"
in 10 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"koala hospital"
in 15 reviews
"sea acres"
in 4 reviews
"photos"
in 32 reviews
"koalas"
in 237 reviews
"dotted"
in 13 reviews
"trial"
in 4 reviews
"port"
in 25 reviews
"awareness"
in 6 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We loved finding koalas. The kids have never been so attentive looking at Places of Interest. Only downside was looking during Christmas holidays. Some of the places were closed when we arrived. We’ve found 25 so far....

Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Great to hear that you and your family are enjoying the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail. We delight in the way kids become so entranced with the Trail and see it as an indoor/outdoor adventure rather than simply 'sightseeing' which makes the experience such fun for parents and grandparents too. Christmas and New Year holidays do reduce access to some sculptures for a few days but as there are currently 62 sculptures on the Trail, there are still plenty to see in one or two days! We will be talking with our sponsors about how we can improve photographic access for the 2018 Christmas / New Year holidays if they are closed by displaying their Hello Koalas sculptures more prominently in a well lit window. So thanks for your comment too which assist us to improve the overall experience of the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We didn’t follow the trail as such but did enjoy the little buzz of seeing these koalas dotted around Port Macquarie. A very cool and memorable idea, and extremely photogenic. Sea Acres national Park seemed to have numerous! Great idea.

Thank Rammy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope you have taken lots of photos to share with family and friends and social media. We are proud of the "Save our Koalas" exhibition on the boardwalk at Sea Acres Rainforest Centre which we installed in June for our inaugural Hello Koalas Festival over the Long Weekend. The exhibition is quite a unique experience and the accompanying "Save our Koalas" booklet we have published explains the rationale behind the display of 5 Hello Koalas sculptures at strategic landings along the boardwalk. The original two sculptures indoors at Sea Acres have been there from the start of the Trail, with one "Crusader Koala" depicting threatened species found in littoral rainforests in NSW.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Found all 56 last year and here to find more this year. Everyone I show the photos to think they are amazing.

Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Your feat is amazing too. Congratulations on capturing 56 Hello Koalas on your last visit and glad you have returned to see the latest 6 new Hello Koalas sculptures. Thank you for being such an ardent fan. We hope to have even more new Hello Koalas on your visit next year. You are keeping us on our toes! But we have three sculptures already in the design phase for 2018 so you shouldn't be disappointed next Christmas holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

I love this trail as it is like a treasure hunt with my visitors and their children....... We get to explore the town and drop into local businesses.

Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Thank you for your review. It's always great to hear from locals about how they enjoy the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail with their friends and family who come to visit. And thanks for supporting the Trail's sponsors too who run some of our best cafes, restaurants, places to stay and great local attractions such as the Koala Hospital, Port Macquarie Museum and Sea Acres Rainforest Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Hello Koalas Public Art Sculpture Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing