We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western City Sands
Nearby Hotels
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Belmore All Suite Hotel(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Wollongong(Wollongong)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Sage Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southview - Boutique Guest House(Bulli)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Suites Pioneer Sands(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
110
120
23
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
120
23
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubgolf coursewin stadiumround of golfocean viewsofa bedbedroom suiteair conguest laundrya great place to staysmall kitchenetteshort strolldefinitely stay here againmini baran overnight staydown stairstop floor
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This was a great stay. Twin Share accommodation, dined in the restaurant and have no complaints about the friendliness of staff, level of service, cleanliness of room or value for money. It was very convenient as the venue for a training workshop was onsite. The staff in the restaurant looked after us like VIPs. The rooms were surprisingly modern for an older gold club which accommodates the Best Western City Sands. Ocean view was worth the $10 extra. The property is close to Woolworths and McDonalds and a Coles Express. I found the venue value for money and will definitely stay here again. It is convenient, well priced and rooms are well appointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Ross,

Thank you for your positive review. we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location. 2 min stroll to the beach and 5 mins to numerous restaurants. 5 mins to Wollongong city. Rooms were great but air con was located in living room which made the rooms were stuffy. Had the open the room balcony glass doors to cool the rooms. The balcony was easily accessible from outside so not great to leave it open unsupervised. It is now winter imagine when it is summer. The king bed room's ensuite is catered for the physically challenged which was great and we ended up using the main bathroom however it was not to our liking(preference thingy). I am pretty sure not all ensuite bathrooms were similar but was not informed we were getting it. Hot water shower was also a problem where you had to wait a good minute before it turns hot. First 2 bedroom unit that does not have a TV in the main room. There was a 2% surcharge on the credit card which staff failed to mention otherwise would have paid in cash.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank rchow245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear rchow245,

Thank you for your review.

The air conditioning does take a while to filter throughout the room. The balcony sliding doors was a good idea to open, I find with the lovely sea breeze does cool the room down rather quickly. We are presently planning a refurbishment in the not too distant future, so wall mounted TV's in bedrooms is something in the planning stage amongst other things.
We hope to see you back at the Best western City Sands on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michael z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This is the first time I've given a negative review of accommodation on TripAdvisor or any other site.
We travel often to Wollongong and have tried a variety of accommodation - hotels, motels, short term apartment rental etc. - in this city.
After reading other reviews and seeing the ratings we decided to try Best Western City Sands. We were surprised and disappointed by what we found.
I've tried to be brief and to the point:
POSITIVES: Great location - views over golf course to sea are beautiful. Free parking.
NEGATIVES:
Checkin: Receptionist busy flirting with a colleague - ignored us. Only one plastic keycard for two people.
Room: Very dated and drab decor - curtains constantly falling off hooks.
Connecting door allows full sound penetration (perfectly distinct conversation and other noises) from adjacent room.
Lighting terrible; dull low light - in bathroom not enough light to shave or apply makeup. Pillows old, lumpy, rock like. Blankets only - thin, old. Towels clean but small and thin.
Black teabags only - requested green or herbal teabags, told by reception they are not offered. Told to buy green tea from restaurant.
Room Service Food Menu: Very limited - requested food offered on restaurant menu. Told by one restaurant staff member that it wasn't available. Told by another we could choose anything from restaurant menu. We did, but weren't given what we ordered. Food plentiful but slow cooked beef very dry and stringy.
Accommodation Rating: Why is this accommodation given a 4 star rating? In our experience of overseas and Australian accommodation, BW City Sands is NOT 4 star hotel accommodation. It is primarily a golf club offering accommodation, as distinct from a hotel. It offers sub standard service, rooms and food at inflated prices - this was the most expensive accommodation available in Wollongong for the dates of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sedoherty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Enjoyed my stay with friendly staff. Bistro pumped out good food. Room was clean and had plenty of space to spread out. Internet was a bit slow for streaming and the a/c heater sounded like a chainsaw.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank leewA1578VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review.

Apologies for the slow internet and the noisy air conditioner. We are presently looking at a refurbishment program for the rooms which will rectify the problem. in the mean time I will have this looked at.

Kind regards,

Michael Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

One bedroom apartment,well appointed,extremely clean,and daily cleaned as well,all staff were extremely friendly,helpful and courteous,hats off to management for having great staff,so close to town,park car,and walk everywhere,very very impressed restuarant and bar on site....only downfall which is minor found lighting poor for reading of a night time or doing make up in bathroom going out to dinner..a minor thing,we were so impressed we have already rebooked

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Z, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your positive review. Good to hear that you have rebooked, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Michael Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews