We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and hospitality around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windmill Hill Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We stayed here for five nights in october. We are a family of 5 so stayed in the two bedroom apartment that caters for up to 6. The rooms are dated but that is the theme of the accommodation to keep with the period of the house (1870's). Rooms have everything you need and are serviced daily, beds comfy and bonus free wifi.

Breakfast was amazing all home made and grown by Steve who provides great advice on things to do and places to see in and around Launceston. We enjoyed our morning talks with Steve in the mornings over breakfast.

I cannot fault this accomodation I highly reccommend to stay here to anyone. Yes its not 5 star but the service definetly is. Great value indeed.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bride83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2014

You need to bear in mind that this house was built in the 1870's. Fantastic location on the top of the hill above Launceston. Rooms are aged but adequate and comfortable. Fantastic hosts who are keen to help you enjoy your Tasmanian experience. Breakfast is the big draw card here, fresh, healthy and plenty of it, a cooked breakfast is available by request. All in all this is a good accommodation, parking is on street in the service road, but, to be honest, its not the mainland sothis is no problem.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PhillipIslander3925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed one night in the families room that can sleep up to 6. it was very spacious, clean and the beds were comfortable.

The welcome from Steve and the banter over the amazing breakfast helped make a delightful stay. And the breakfast... home grown honey and poached fruits (pear, peach, apricot, berries and more) and home baked bread and muffins along with cereals and coffee and tea. One of the best I have had.

The room we had showed some quirky history in the furnishings and fittings - could get a bit cold on frosty nights in Launceston, but that would only apply to the main room of the family room we were in.

Room Tip: The family room is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for 2 nights. Windmill Hill is well located in a quiet area of Launceston and our room was huge and spacious with a well equipped galley kitchen area but we did find the shower a bit on the small side. Some other areas in the room would benefit from a little more attention to detail, such as the chairs provided with the table that need re-upholstering but apart from this our stay was most comfortable. Our host Steve was friendly, attentive and most informative. The inclusive breakfast was most impressive, with a focus on home made produce - delicious and filling - jams, creamed rice, home grown honey, stewed fruit and home made bread along with a selection of cereals and porridge. We were able to enjoy this either in the dining area or the wonderful adjoining sunroom with a garden outlook. Breakfast is certainly a highlight!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Foxy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We only had one night at the Windmill Hill, but it was a great start to our Tasmanian holiday.
Arriving late on the least flight into Launceston, we were worried about getting in despite our reservation on the night before a big V8 Super car race.
Stevie our host was up waiting, carried our heavy suitcase up the stairs to a delightful old style room. Sleep soon came in the comfortable bed with a very quiet room.
The best part was breakfast (included in the tariff). Stevie's home made, muesli, jams, and home grown honey were fantastic. An ideal way to start the day's trip ahead of us.
We will make sure we stay here again, but longer to explore Launceston more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 km away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 33 in Launceston
183 reviews
1.4 km away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 33 in Launceston
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#7 of 33 in Launceston
82 reviews
10.4 km away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hill Lodge

Address: 22 High St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: RM384 - RM445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Windmill Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Hill Lodge Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing