We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality from Steve, home cooked breakfasts plus much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windmill Hill Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We are so pleased to be referred here when our original plans fell through. Great location and comfortable four poster bed. Thoroughly enjoyed sumptious breakfasts with home cooked breads, pikelets, jams and fruits. Steve was helpful in advising places to eat at night, and routes for our further travel.

Room Tip: We were in a front room and had no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marigoldmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2015

We stayed in the Wesleyan chapel at Evendale. A quaint little place that had everything you would need. Unfortunately our stay was very short. I was concerned that the place would be cold as we were there on a very cold day but once we turned the heaters on the place soon warmed up and was very comfortable. A good location to walk to shops and pubs.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Great location, with beautiful buildings nearby, friendly staff and a great breakfast. Unfortunately the beds and pillows are as old as the building. We booked a family apartment which is really not suitable for 4 adults and 1 child. The bathroom is only suitable for 1 bedroom as the other bedroom is in a complete separate area outside. We ended up using the common bathroom down the passage . The B@B was advertised as 4 stars, no way, barely 3 star.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Ivan10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We had a very large, quiet and clean room at the back of this large house. A very comfortable room. Steve was an excellent host and a wealth of local knowledge. Breakfast was magnificent with many local products, often made by Steve. The house is quite close to the heart of town. The hill is steep to town but did not worry us-we liked to walk the back way shown by Steve. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Travellers from Melbourne, we book the family room. It is a huge room, very spacious and secure place to stay.
- Close to the CBD, taxi would cost 6 dollars from the place.
-Very nice Breaky, heaps of variety.
-Steve is such a nice owner of the place. We enjoy having a conversation with.


Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Erol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
533 reviews
0.1 km away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 33 in Launceston
184 reviews
0.1 km away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 33 in Launceston
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
10.4 km away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
133 reviews
0.4 km away
Areca Boutique Hotel
Areca Boutique Hotel
#7 of 33 in Launceston
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hill Lodge

Address: 22 High St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: RM394 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Windmill Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Hill Lodge Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing