We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveller rating
487
396
80
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
396
80
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market square separate toilet undercover parking town clock bedroom suite car park light sleeper living area washing machine and dryer room service cataract gorge per night spa bath hotel restaurant first floor overland track three nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 998 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Sebel staff are very helpful. At check-in, the receptionist marked up a map and explained what there was to do. We got an upgrade which was well worth it and the food is much better than you'd expect for a hotel restaurant. Recommended!

Room tip: Ask to avoid the front if possible - there's a health club opposite and class music can be heard (but its doesnt last long).
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

I stayed at The Sebel Launceston prior to embarking on the Overland Track and again for a night upon my return to the city. The location was perfect for exploring downtown, the river front, and Cataract Gorge. Reception staff was helpful, friendly and welcoming. When I returned, my room had been upgraded. Property is clean, well-maintained. After leaving Tasmania, I stayed in an upper-end hotel in Melbourne. Felt much more comfortable, happier, and relaxed at The Sebel Launceston (including at a much-lesser rate). I don't know if the in-property restaurant is independent or not. Staff could use a bit more training in the restaurant, but setting was pleasant and food was fine. All other experiences with personnel at the hotel were five star.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Dear Joan,

Thanks for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a good walk across the Cradle Mountain Overland Trail. We try to allocate rooms with washing machines and dryers for our guests returning from Tasmanian Walking Company walks as they usually have a lot of laundry to do.

We hope to welcome you back some time, perhaps for the Bay of Fires walk.

Kind regards,

Craig Richman
Owner
The Sebel Launceston
craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

We have been coming here for many years and we've never had a bad experience yet, and our latest stay was no exception. With help from Kaisha and all the staff , flowers were delivered and setup in our room, we even got a couple of gifts for our special occasion. Dinner both nights, wonderful food,great and extremely friendly staff, especially Ryan in the restaurant, who has been looking after us in the restaurant for the past 4 or 5 years?. Cant wait till our next visit

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J1379MKdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

We only booked mid afternoon for that evening and were upgraded to a better room . The room was clean and comfortable. Reception service was very friendly and accommodating. We also used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast . The staff also were friendly and provided great service

Room tip: Room facing north was good option
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gcvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews