We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$110
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Villas(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$87
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batman Fawkner Inn(Launceston)
US$51
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
198
146
42
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
146
42
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate hotelformer conventcataract gorgemanager jamescommunal balconylovely old buildingboutique hotelguest loungespa roomexecutive suitemini bartop floorgreat bathroomelectric blanketsa great place to staycontinental breakfastcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

A lovely old building, close to everything and views over Launceston. We had a tiny balcony which was just perfect for us to sit and enjoy the beautiful weather we had during our stay. Very helpful staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Evaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I are from the UK and stayed at the Auldington for 2 weeks while visiting relatives. We found the hotel to be comfortable, welcoming and very characterful. The manager, James and his staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. Ideally situated just a 2 minute stroll into Launceston centre and with plenty of car parking and beautifully maintained gardens.
If you like the smaller boutique type of hotel then the Auldington is the number 1 choice in Launceston. Highly recommended and I will be staying here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Scooby90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

A charming local, small boutique hotel. Very comfortable in a great location. The manager, James and his staff, were most helpful. Plenty of great restaurants nearby. James has a good knowledge of most of them.
If you are looking for the Hilton, this is not it but it is a very comfortable, friendly place.
We will be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

A terrific hote! We stayed two nights whilst attending the Launceston Cup in February 18. We live near Hobart and visit Launceston from time to time but hadn't heard of the Auldington before. We booked through Qantas Hotels whose service was also very good.

We had room 15 on the ground floor, as requested. An absolutely massive room, with an equally large bathroom. The in-room breakfast was more than adequate, with the makings delivered to the room the previous day. The large bed was remarkably comfortable.

Our room was next to the after hours entrance, but we were not disturbed at all. Like all heritage places it had its quirks - a bathroom mirror displaced to one side of the basin; a loud chime from the next door school in mid-afternoon. Otherwise, all was modern, including the wifi which worked well although the data limit may be too small for some.

All in all, in the words of a long-forgotten TV show, I'd give it five!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We stayed here for three nights and were absolutely charmed by the hotel. It was very clean and very comfortable. The staff were really charming, especially James and he was very knowledgable and helpful in regards to places to eat and sightseeing. Thanks for your help James.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grange51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews