We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover in Greymouth ”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here twice this month the motel is extremely well maintained everything is so clean and well presented the owner operator and his wife are super friendly and helpful
Would highly recommend the Gables to any traveler heading this way would rate it first class

Stayed: December 2016
Thank J8006CQbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed at the Gables Motor Lodge for one night on our driving trip through New Zealand. It is wonderful, small motor lodge, with ample off-street parking right by the rooms. It is also very reasonably priced.

The owner could not have been nicer, accommodating us on a large load of laundry that we had and providing a lot of information on what to do in the area.

The Gables is well-located, with a great restaurant (don't remember the name) a five minute walk one way and a nice grocery store the same distance the other way.

It was clean, roomy, and very well equipped. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiegs2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Due to a change in our travel plans we needed to stay in Greymouth for one night. After consulting trip advisor we decided on this place. We were greeted at the front desk by the owner/manager. What a lovely helpful man. He asked how our day had been and where we were headed next. He gave me information about roadworks at Arthur's pass. He booked a dinner reservation at the restaurant a few doors up from the hotel. Such great customer service. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Leona1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Picton

The beds were not the most comfortable, however, the worst part was that there were Bedbugs!
The morning after we left early so couldn't complain to the owner
Both me and my wife has red bug bite marks all over our body

Free wifi and location is all well and good, but the main purpose of a motel is a nice bed to sleep

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vineet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

What an irresponsible review. After we read it, we immediately went into the unit you stayed in and stripped and carefully examined every bed. There are NO bed bugs in the unit. You say that you left early so could not complain. Reception opens at 7.30 a.m. Our computer records show that you checked out at 7.46 a.m. One of your party was taking photos outside the unit before you came into Reception and handed in the key when you checked out. If there was a problem, why did you not mention it at the time? Why did you not demand a refund? Anyone else would have done so. Given that you have waited nearly two weeks before posting a review, and cannot even remember that you checked out in person, we think that you have confused us with another motel/hotel. We have not received any other complaints from other guests, either prior to or since your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

A quick trip to the West Coast with some friends and we stayed here. What a gem of a place - clean, tidy, great value and everything we needed. Great host, who shared his local knowledge and gave us two fantastic recommendations - dinner at the pub next door and breakfast at Maggies (both were 5 star).

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank ThebigcheeseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.5 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
204 reviews
6.2 km away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 19 in Greymouth
141 reviews
1.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 19 in Greymouth
324 reviews
0.2 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
360 reviews
1.8 km away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#6 of 19 in Greymouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Family Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range: RM397 - RM531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing