We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$58
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kaikoura Boutique Hotel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$51
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fairways(Kaikoura)
US$98
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barnacle Bills(Kaikoura)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
56
83
39
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
83
39
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseal colonylockwood stylean upper level roomgreat view from roomdownstairs unitpier hotelthe kitchenno air conditioningsnowy mountainsacross the roadminute walksmall balconyvery pleasant staykaikoura rangesstayed here for two nightseasy accesstown centre
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This is our third stay at the Panorama. Our first one was in the early 1990's and it felt like nothing had changed. The room was clean and quiet. The management was friendly and helpful. But the room felt tired and like it needed updated. Just updating the bedspreads would make a huge difference in the eye appeal of the units.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. The ones on the end have one less neighbor.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

even though we stayed on the ground floor due to the earthquake, it was awesome. The rooms were clean and tidy and a big 10/10 for the showers. The spirit of the people of Kaikoura wasn't damped by the earthquake, in fact it heightened their love for their beautiful town. Well done! We will be back next year

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chris_cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Decided to spend New Year's eve in Kaikoura and had always wanted to stay here. My friend and I chose the "easy access room" that has a larger bathroom and heaps of space in the shower. It was a downstairs unit (105) which afforded the best view. Room has had a recent upgrade and we had no problems moving the furniture around to how we wanted! Mainly drinking wine and enjoying the scenery. Pam was the perfect host offering early check-in and late check-out where other bookings did not interfere.

Television had USB input so those with music / movies on a hard drive can happily avoid usual programming.

Very close to the Pier hotel which was perfect for us. Just a few minutes walk up the road. Great place for food and drinks with million dollar views. Those who travel in winter time will have magnificent views of the snow capped mountains. Would like to have stayed longer but on a schedule. Definitely stay again. Thanks Pam!!

Room Tip: Easy access studio room a nice downstairs unit. More space with good views.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kwossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Location of the motel is just across the street from Kaikoura beach (which is however not suitable for swimming, quite
rocky). Clean rooms, enough space. Kitchenette equipped with a fridge, microwave and cooker. Very nice and pleasant owner. The only down side was no WiFi.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Advisor_Miro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Looked around and took a room in this 40 year old 2-story motel. All was good but it is dated and not at all modern, especially the shower and its room. Nothing wrong, just tired. Studio for us that worked fine and we had our supper in the room with outstanding view of the bay and snow capped mountains as the sun set.
i'd come back but might inspect another place first, just in case. Paid NZ145.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n6ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews