We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fairways(Kaikoura)
US$98
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnacle Bills(Kaikoura)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
68
14
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
14
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher daughterhomemade breadpleasant staywonderful hospitalityyogurtmargaretbayviewguestsfireplaceearthquake
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Kaikoura was an unbelievable experience and our accomodation was the perfect place to relax after all these impressive moments.
We had a very nice and clean room and our host, Margaret, was lovely. She told us some amazing stories about her life and served us a delicious breakfast.
A huge 'Thank you' to Margaret and a 'Book it' to all readers.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Benyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay in Bayview Homestay. Clean, comfortable and warm B&B. Thanks for Margaret to prepare a fantastic breakfast and share her life story. We won't forget the smile on Nicky's face.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaimui99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We stayed at Mar's Bayview home-stay for two nights while visiting Kaikoura. The home was situated on a peninsula overlooking the Kaikoura harbour. At 84 years old, Mar does an astounding job of tending to her amazing flowers and vegetable gar dents, as well as take care of the visiting guests. Her breakfasts with bacon and eggs fresh from her hens are made with with care and often accompanied with stories of her life events. Her tomatoes are awesomely sweet. We took advantage of lazing by the pool, slept well in the fresh air, and enjoyed Milo and Juno, the cats. We went whale watching in Kaikoura, which was not far from the home. The home is a top a hill, so there is quite a bit of a hike from the harbour, so we used our car to go back and forth. One evening, we walked around the neighbourhood, and discovered a lookout point overlooking the harbour into the mountains against a pink sky of clouds - it was so scenic it could have been a painting! The serenity of the moment was none that we had ever experienced before.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PKyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This place is so nice! Margaret, the proprietor, is 84 and she is tireless. She makes this fabulous breakfast with fresh eggs ( she has chickens), bacon and homemade (by her) toast along with yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea. The place is so homey, comfortable and clean. The location is excellent for walkers or those driving. A few minutes from the town center which you can walk to on a trail. Margaret has beautiful gardens and there is a swimming pool. Cooking is limited to microwave as there is no stove. There is a washing machine in the kitchen that is available to guests. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. Margaret is a gracious and charming host.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonlake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

Margery and Nicky made us so welcome we were sad to leave.
We stayed two nights in the En-Suite room
Breakfast was a delight with Margery's cooking with mainly home made products.
Lovely house and garden.
Margery's life is in a book which is worth reading there.
All for 130$ NZ a night..what a bargain.
David and Wendy

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidokok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews