We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Kaikoura.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Ranked #12 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2015

We stayed in Bay View in Kaikoura for just one night in March 2015, arriving in the late afternoon. The house is located on the top of the peninsula overlooking the town, and is surrounded by a beautiful garden full of flowers. The owner Margaret met us and immediately made us feel very welcome, supplying tea and cakes immediately we arrived. The house and it's history as well as Margaret's friendliness make it a beautiful place to stay. A lovely log fire in the evening and a great breakfast served in the dining room with superb mountain views makes this a lovely place to stay. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, we had the double ensuite, which was really nice and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tesndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2015

Kaikoura was an unbelievable experience and our accomodation was the perfect place to relax after all these impressive moments.
We had a very nice and clean room and our host, Margaret, was lovely. She told us some amazing stories about her life and served us a delicious breakfast.
A huge 'Thank you' to Margaret and a 'Book it' to all readers.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Benyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay in Bayview Homestay. Clean, comfortable and warm B&B. Thanks for Margaret to prepare a fantastic breakfast and share her life story. We won't forget the smile on Nicky's face.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaimui99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We stayed at Mar's Bayview home-stay for two nights while visiting Kaikoura. The home was situated on a peninsula overlooking the Kaikoura harbour. At 84 years old, Mar does an astounding job of tending to her amazing flowers and vegetable gar dents, as well as take care of the visiting guests. Her breakfasts with bacon and eggs fresh from her hens are made with with care and often accompanied with stories of her life events. Her tomatoes are awesomely sweet. We took advantage of lazing by the pool, slept well in the fresh air, and enjoyed Milo and Juno, the cats. We went whale watching in Kaikoura, which was not far from the home. The home is a top a hill, so there is quite a bit of a hike from the harbour, so we used our car to go back and forth. One evening, we walked around the neighbourhood, and discovered a lookout point overlooking the harbour into the mountains against a pink sky of clouds - it was so scenic it could have been a painting! The serenity of the moment was none that we had ever experienced before.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PKyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This place is so nice! Margaret, the proprietor, is 84 and she is tireless. She makes this fabulous breakfast with fresh eggs ( she has chickens), bacon and homemade (by her) toast along with yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea. The place is so homey, comfortable and clean. The location is excellent for walkers or those driving. A few minutes from the town center which you can walk to on a trail. Margaret has beautiful gardens and there is a swimming pool. Cooking is limited to microwave as there is no stove. There is a washing machine in the kitchen that is available to guests. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. Margaret is a gracious and charming host.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonlake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
3.0 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.6 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.2 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.7 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
1.1 km away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#17 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura

Address: 296 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: RM240 - RM268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Woodill is the classic Kiwi grandmother and thinks nothing of getting up at 5.30 am to cook a full breakfast including homemade bread before your whale watching or dolphin swimming trip in Kaikoura, New Zealand. She’s lived in her Kaikoura peninsula home with its sweeping views of sea and mountains since 1934. She began taking in passing travellers over 20 years ago, just before the whales and dolphins turned the township into a tourist Mecca. When her four children left home, opening a bed and breakfast seemed a logical use for spare bedrooms and bathrooms. Since husband Bob’s death in 1999, Margaret says guests are her family and that’s why she calls it a HOMESTAY rather than a B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing