We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveller rating
472
394
106
43
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
394
106
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english village honest lawyer bedroom cottage old english onsite restaurant close to the airport gas fire washing machine hotel room the cottages great pub minute drive new zealand lounge area large bathroom full kitchen comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We had a great evening at the Monaco kitchen

Great service from Tommy and Ashleigh with great knowledge of food and wine

We shared plates through the evening which we recommend great full flavours well seasoned and balance

Food just got better and better!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mattdwyer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear mattdwyer87

Thanks Matt for your terrific review of your great dining experience at The Monaco Kitchen, it was fantastic to hear what great service you experienced from Tommy and Ashleigh, and to know you really really enjoyed the food.

Our General Manager has already beaten me to it and shared your feedback with the wider staff, they'll be chuffed to read your nice comments.

We look forward to seeing you back in TMK sometime in the near future and trust that your next visit will be every bit as enjoyable as your last one.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco | The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

The service and look and feel are great. The hotel is a little way from town and other 'shops' etc, but the view makes up for it.

For disabled persons we experienced that although there are lovely rooms, they are dark and do not offer a view. The rooms are also a little way from the main hotel and restaruant which proved too difficult for our disabled person in the party.

Needless to say, the hotel receptionist phoned around and found us some really good accommodation which met our requirements.

Room Tip: The disabled rooms are a little dark and far from the main hotel
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiMax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi there KiwiMax2013

Thanks for your review/feedback - I was pleased to read that our receptionist found you suitable alternative accommodation that met your requirements, and we're sorry that our accessible facilities didn't work for your family member.

I trust you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region - it's lovely even in winter.

Warm regards
Nick. on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed here and found it a bit far out of town, the rooms were poorly lit, and the restaurant facilities for breakfast weren't available because they had a function on. The upside was that the room was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi there Narziss

Thanks for your feedback/review. I've noted your comment on the poor lighting in your accommodation and passed this on to our owner/management.

Your comment regarding breakfast facilities being unavailable due to a function has us confused! I've asked our Food and Beverage Supervisor about your comment, and I've been assured that we haven't closed a breakfast service due to function, it's not something we would do.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed out stay here as it is so different to anywhere we have stayed before. The rooms are well appointed, although they could do with a spring clean. The lamps on the bedside table are dusty and there was a cobweb above the bed. Bring an eye mask as the curtains do not block out any light and be aware that you can hear the planes at the airport. The service here is exceptional. There is plenty of parking also.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank kiwitraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear kiwitraveler92

Thanks for your review/feedback, especially for noting the ample (free) parking, the well appointed rooms and the exceptional service.

Your feedback on the housekeeping matters has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper.

Thanks also for your feedback that the curtains not adequately blocking out light, I've passed that point on to the hotel owner who takes a keen interest in guest suggestions for improvements which I report to him on a monthly basis.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews