We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$34
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Almond House Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ah house, Nelson City B&B(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admirals Motor Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abelia Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
54
68
26
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
68
26
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschowderpork bellyguinness piegreat pub foodcottage roomscontinental breakfast includedperiod styleenglish stylefish chipsoutdoor areacool placehotel restaurantfresh fruitguest laundrytwo nightsone night stayminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Probably some of the best service I have received by Joshua. He is lovely! The food was brought out quickly and was yummy (I had the fish & chips). The outdoor seating area has a nice view and makes for a nice spot to go for a meal. 10/10 would go back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank kiwitraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerNelson, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi kiwitraveler92,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review of us. We think Joshua is pretty neat too and we are pleased you enjoyed his service. The fish and chips has always been one of our favourites as well. we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Although this hotel is in Stoke, about a 15 minute drive from central Nelson, it was well worth the visit. We visited this hotel on a cold, wet evening. Unusual for Nelson. The meal we had was excellent. The menu was broad and the meal was hot, beautifully presented and worth the effort of braving the weather. If you like light desserts, try the lemon posset, delicious.

The fire was roaring as we settled down to eat. The pub has a lovely ambience, no loud shattering music to eat by, so very comfortable indeed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Lots of parking and on a fine day it would be great to sit outside at one of the many tables available. Definitely a place to return to on our next visit to Nelson.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We loved the look of this pub and couldn’t wait to try it , the food was good pub food but the waiter didn’t know what he was doing but was pleasant , we felt sorry for him as the girl that was teaching him appeared to give him a hard time and was rude to us which is a shame as it spoilt our experience, they were very busy so maybe that was the problem. I am sure if we were in the area again and went back we would have a better time of it.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RugbyMadKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

This was a charming and delightful place to stay. Very relaxing place with it's English charm. Excellent outdoor area and a great place to relax in for families, couples or just on your own. Pets are very welcome as well with the resident dog Toby being very engaging. The room is very comfortable and peaceful and tastefully decorated.
The staff were also very friendly and customer service was clearly their focus. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

A stay with real character. An old English Inn with a sense of fun in a beautiful setting. A great pub, meeting space and we stayed in one of the cottage rooms in the rear of property where we had complete privacy. Our fist evening we ate at the pub and enjoyed it so much we went back the second night.
If we are in the area again we would definitely stay at the Honest Lawyer.
Our hostess Aroha was super friendly and her treatment of us stands in direct opposition to the earlier review we read of unfriendly management.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews