We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admirals Motor Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$58
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$65
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$41
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Abelia Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almond House Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$45
US$32
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
158
48
9
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
48
9
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomthe kitchenfree wififoosball tablethe main blockfree pickfree bikesbus stationnew zealandevery morningoutdoor areaabel tasmanlate checkminute walk from townfree breakfast in the morningshared bathrooma nice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately I didn't enjoy my stay at this hostel. There isn't much of a welcome and the hostel seems to be run by young backpackers.
The kitchen was not in a good state and by the third day I couldn't bear to go in and cook. The kitchen is left in a constant mess by guests, i.e., unwashed dishes, mucky surfaces. They also seem to have a fly problem, so even though there is a free breakfast, it's left uncovered and the flies are all over it.
The communal area for guests is small and a bit dingy.
I stayed in a private room which was fine and much more comfortable than the main block.
Wifi was free and good speed.
The hostel is a good 20 minute walk into town and they no longer offer a drop off/ pick up from bus station as advertised on their website.
This hostel does seem to be weighted more towards the younger traveller.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Stayed there 2 nights and in general it is a nice place worth for the price. They are located within residential area and at 10PM even in the garden they don't let you to sit and talk with your friends. Not talking about any music or loud just sitting with friends and having normal conversation due to other residents around. This is a big minus for me.
They request 20USD deposit for bike usage. For me its OK but kind of unnecessary. I only would like to mention this in case you don't like carrying cash like me please be prepared.
Kitchen is big enough. Bathrooms are clean, internet works fine.
I stayed in a dorm room and they have this electronic number controlled doors so if someone wants to enter in the middle of the night trying to push buttons in the dark and it creates noise. Just a simple key would be better and simpler I believe.
Washing machine could be used only after 4 PM which is another handicap because then you have limited time to hang and dry your clothes, but they have drier which I have used. If you don't want to pay for drier then please also be ready for this.
Location wise I found it fine not far from the supermarket (6-7 mins bike ride one way)
8-10 mins to center.
Overall my stay was comfortable and in general I could recommend just please be careful about the points mentioned above. If those don't bother you then it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huss0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

I have to say that the other guest I met staying here were wonderful, but the hostel is a bit disgusting. The rooms and bathrooms were kept clean, but the kitchen was a cesspit. Constant piles of dirty dishes and door left wide open all day with no screen meant insects everywhere! Including cockroaches, ants, spiders and flies. The fridges stink, step back before you open the door! The WiFi was great, and unlimited when it was working. The bunk beds, however, were tiny. Most definitely designed for children. Overall the hostel has a nice vibe, but for comfort and cleanliness, perhaps book something else.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Stayed in a double room pre and post doing the Abel Tasman Coast Track. Close to the airport but about a good 20 minute walk to supermarkets and town centre (be mindful if you are carrying luggage from the iSite bus stop).

Room was clean, but the bed hadn't been made up when we first arrived... in fact, the young guy asked if we actually wanted a new sheet or if what was there 'would do'. But other than that, people were really friendly. Used the washing and drying facilities, and kitchen, and it was all pretty standard for a hostel.

Crowd was very young but not a partying crowd. Very friendly, respectful and enthusiastic. Great vibe in that respect so a good place if travelling alone if you enjoy interesting chats, etc...

Also worth pointing out that they let us keep luggage there in a locked shed while we were trekking, which was super helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building adjacent to the main building are older but quieter
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ilForastero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

In this hostel you can find everything you need. Free wifi, nice showers and toilets, laundry, well appointed kitchen, bread and jam for breakfast, nice people and a big garden to enjoy the sun. The owner was very helpful and drove me to the busstation in the morning.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hurdygurdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews