We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a true oasis in a sea of choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We came to Nelson on a side trip to visit known and unknown wineries, We had talked to local winery families we had known for some time and from the listing chose Collingwood Manor for a brief visit prior to starting an month plus cruise. Ray and Jules are charming, highly professional and their residence beautifilly restored. it is very centrally located, is extremely comfortable, and the level of service absolutely top notch. their breakfast offering is superb and highly nutritious, Nelson on the whole seems quite health conscious, the manor has a very interesting history and it is readily available to peruse. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Manor without a single reservation. Nelson is a charming city and the manor exudes the same charm. Nelson is half way around t he world but I would come here and say at the Collingwood in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: only saw our room the Everett but there is no reason to take any that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adeleseifried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thanks Adele & Harold. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

2 nights were spent in the sleepy town of Nelson at this amazing bed and breakfast. Ray and Jules made us very welcome, as they do all their guests. Their home is one of the oldest in Nelson and is full of character and this is reflected in the rooms. Our room had double French doors that led onto the deck area ,which surrounds the front and side of the building, and gave us our own outside space for the warm evenings where we could enjoy a glass or two of wine with Ray and Jules and other guests, and the evening sun. We had a huge bedroom, with ample space for hanging clothes, tv, DVD, fridge and tea making facilities. Breakfast was served in the dining/lounge room and the choice was very good. Within easy walking distance into town where there are several good restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thanks Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I stayed there with my family (5) in two lovely rooms. Both of them are very spacious, beautiful, and with special details for everywhere.
Ray & Jules gave us a nice welcome and they help us in everything we needed.
Breakfast was great and included all you wish (various breads, delicious yogurth, various cereals, and home made eggs)
The location is great. Everything makes Collingwood Manor an excellent option.
Thanks Ray & Jules

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Many thanks Jacqueline. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Collingwood Manor in a very spacious room with
doors opening on to the verandah.
Ray and Jules were very welcoming guests and the whole experience was delightful. They have renovated the unique house beautifully and one of the highlights is their wonderful, eclectic collection of works of art ! taking up almost all available wall space and placed around the rooms.
A lovely cooked breakfast was available as well as home made muesli and various breads to chose from, changed daily. Our various questions and requests, e.g. An early breakfast and packed lunch were graciously accommodated.
We would highly recommend staying at Collingwood Mano, and Nelson, a lovely town with exceptionally good restaurants.

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon (to do more walks or just to relax!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We came back after many years to this historic and charming house (then it has been the California House ...) and were again not disappointed at all: Friendly and attentive host with a good attitude to indulge guests.
The rooms are large and clean.
The breakfast is tasteful.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Many thanks for coming back to the house again. We appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
689 reviews
1.2 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.4 km away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
2.2 km away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Collingwood Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: RM515 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Bed & Breakfast. Our five rooms all have king sized beds and there are many original pieces of art and prints in the bedrooms and throughout the house. The cosy lounge with wood burner and heat pump, the veranda and the garden all provide the ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare your New Zealand experiences with fellow travellers. Conversely, each of our generous bedrooms are comfortable enough to retire to for moments of complete privacy and personal relaxation and, with all the luxuries described above, allow you to be as self-sufficient as you prefer. A delicious full breakfast (continental & cooked), using the finest fresh local and home made produce, is served daily in the dining room, overlooking the magnificent front garden. There surely can be no better place to welcome in each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing