We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for staying in Nelson, Easy walking distance to town and tour pick ups.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Would definitely recommend this b&b. We decide to stay in Nelson for two nights so that we could do a vineyard tour. We saw this b&b online & called to check availability. They gave us the rate we had seen online through TripAdvisor. Which was slightly cheaper than the price they quoted on the phone.
We were greeted by Ray when we arrived in the evening, very friendly host. Our room was well equipped with everything we needed. Had a fridge, tea/coffee/milk/water, iron, toiletries, to, wifi. They offer a laundry service as well for $20 per load washed & dried which we thought was a great idea although we didn't actually use it.
Breakfast was plentiful with continental ready to help yourself to & then they offer you a cooked breakfast as well. Which included eggs, bacon, avocado, tomatoes and hash browns. Tea & coffee of course. The breakfast is served in a lounge area, which has a large dining table all guests sit at together. So it was nice to chat with other guests and hear their travels stories and tips.
The walk into town took around 15mins and there are lots of restaurants to choose from, Plus there is a supermarket about a five minute walk over the bridge.
Our tour guide for our vineyard trip came and picked us up from the Collingwood manor which was great and Ray kindly called us a taxi on our departure so that we could collect our hire car for the next leg of our trip.
There was a huge supply of tourist info in the hallway so if you were short of ideas for the local area just ask Ray or Jules and they will point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: This b&b has 5 rooms, we stayed in Margaret's room which was near the front door/hallway how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank virginbeautie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We overnighted at Collingwood Manor and would have stayed longer but they were full and we had other commitments. Ray greeted us at the door by name. He was friendly, welcoming and informative.Jules wasthe same when we briefly met. Our room was large and clean and just right.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank kadoOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We came to Nelson on a side trip to visit known and unknown wineries, We had talked to local winery families we had known for some time and from the listing chose Collingwood Manor for a brief visit prior to starting an month plus cruise. Ray and Jules are charming, highly professional and their residence beautifilly restored. it is very centrally located, is extremely comfortable, and the level of service absolutely top notch. their breakfast offering is superb and highly nutritious, Nelson on the whole seems quite health conscious, the manor has a very interesting history and it is readily available to peruse. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Manor without a single reservation. Nelson is a charming city and the manor exudes the same charm. Nelson is half way around t he world but I would come here and say at the Collingwood in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: only saw our room the Everett but there is no reason to take any that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adeleseifried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thanks Adele & Harold. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

2 nights were spent in the sleepy town of Nelson at this amazing bed and breakfast. Ray and Jules made us very welcome, as they do all their guests. Their home is one of the oldest in Nelson and is full of character and this is reflected in the rooms. Our room had double French doors that led onto the deck area ,which surrounds the front and side of the building, and gave us our own outside space for the warm evenings where we could enjoy a glass or two of wine with Ray and Jules and other guests, and the evening sun. We had a huge bedroom, with ample space for hanging clothes, tv, DVD, fridge and tea making facilities. Breakfast was served in the dining/lounge room and the choice was very good. Within easy walking distance into town where there are several good restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thanks Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I stayed there with my family (5) in two lovely rooms. Both of them are very spacious, beautiful, and with special details for everywhere.
Ray & Jules gave us a nice welcome and they help us in everything we needed.
Breakfast was great and included all you wish (various breads, delicious yogurth, various cereals, and home made eggs)
The location is great. Everything makes Collingwood Manor an excellent option.
Thanks Ray & Jules

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

Many thanks Jacqueline. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
689 reviews
1.2 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.4 km away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
2.2 km away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Collingwood Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: RM514 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Bed & Breakfast. Our five rooms all have king sized beds and there are many original pieces of art and prints in the bedrooms and throughout the house. The cosy lounge with wood burner and heat pump, the veranda and the garden all provide the ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare your New Zealand experiences with fellow travellers. Conversely, each of our generous bedrooms are comfortable enough to retire to for moments of complete privacy and personal relaxation and, with all the luxuries described above, allow you to be as self-sufficient as you prefer. A delicious full breakfast (continental & cooked), using the finest fresh local and home made produce, is served daily in the dining room, overlooking the magnificent front garden. There surely can be no better place to welcome in each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing