We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The owners, Jules and Ray made us feel like family members from the very first moment we checked in. Warm, engaged, they were wonderful. Our only regret is they weren't our neighbors in the US as we would love to socialize with them back home,
The rooms were clean, spacious, appropriately stocked with mini snacks, all part of the room price. The decor is informal and relaxing.

The breakfast is varied, bountiful and delicious. ( Make certain you ask Ray to make his pancakes.)
The location is near perfect. It's only a few short walkable blocks to the city center but is located in a residential area so it is very quiet.
If you are a Bed and Bath traveler, you must stay here, you will not find better.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel, it is a very large, old house that is charming
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thanks Michael.
It was a real pleasure having you all stay.
Many thanks,
Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Ray was an excellent host who accommodated us at short notice. An historic house built in the1800's, nicely decorated with lots of local art, clean, comfortable and homely. Superb breakfast! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room which had all the usual facilities, own bathroom with bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardfeeney2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks Richard. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Although the structure is 100+ the owners have done a very nice job updating for modern conveniences without loosing the character of the building. Quiet street just outside of city center - 10-15 minute walk - generous cooked breakfast and very pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Many thanks. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our house. Ray and Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This B & B looks very nicely kept as you approach it and then the inside does not disappoint. The hosts are Ray and Jules and these two are just lovely people and could not be more helpful. We were greeted by Ray who had a unobtrusive yet interested way about him. He advised where to park and where might be locally of interest. When we wanted a bottle opener he was quick to oblige. The room was clean and spacious with lovely pictures on the walls. We were allowed to use their own phone to arrange to meet some friends and then we had the availability of the large and comfortable lounge area to socialise in. We arrived and left on a motorbike and this is a biker friendly establishment and as I understand it they have hosted many bikers in the past. Jules produced a cracking breakfast and we ate together with other travellers in the lounge which was great, Tea and coffee was available and regularly replenished. I have never stopped in a place where there was such a huge selection of different types of tea in the room. Very impressive and it tempted me to try a few new ones. These hosts are lovely people and they seem to be in just the right trade. We are unlikely to visit New Zealand again but if we do and we visit Nelson this is where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thanks Tony. What a lovely review. Much appreciated. Ray and Jules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We spent 4 nights at Collingwood Manor over a 3-week period. Our hosts were welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. They even went the extra mile and assisted in setting up a birthday surprise for my brother from his children in the U.S. on our last night in NZ. It was waiting in his room upon his arrival. I even observed them calling local restaurants to see who could accommodate a couple wanting a kosher dinner. Our hosts made the calls, asked questions and made dinner reservations for the couple.

Suites were roomy, extremely clean, with all of the amenities one would need. The whole place was tastefully decorated to the time period and comfortable. Breakfast was at a large table with other guests, which made for a wonderful opportunity to meet other people from other lands. Ray and Jules had a great variety of continental breakfast items and Ray also cooked to order. On our first morning at the Manor we had to leave at 4:30 to catch a ferry in Picton. Since we would be missing breakfast, Ray made us delicious sandwiches (on the best bread ever) to take with us on the ferry. Truly thoughtful—and appreciated!

One of their friends even tried assisting my brother with his iPad issues. They had laundry service available which was particularly helpful to us since we were on a motorcycle tour and had a limited wardrobe. They also stored our travel cases until the end of our tour.

We could easily walk to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, post, banks, Riverwalk, botanical gardens and historical sites. It is in a wonderful location and a place I would highly recommend as a house full of charm and perfect hosts.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank lmkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thanks Lyn. It was a pleasure having you and Dick stay with us. You both left a lasting impression on us and you were like family members in the end! It was great getting to know you both. Hopefully see you again on your next trip over. Kind Regards, Ray and Jules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
686 reviews
0.9 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
155 reviews
0.7 km away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
7.0 km away
Holland House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
Baywick Inn
Baywick Inn
#11 of 55 in Nelson
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Collingwood Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: RM522 - RM597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Bed & Breakfast. Our five rooms all have king sized beds and there are many original pieces of art and prints in the bedrooms and throughout the house. The cosy lounge with wood burner and heat pump, the veranda and the garden all provide the ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare your New Zealand experiences with fellow travellers. Conversely, each of our generous bedrooms are comfortable enough to retire to for moments of complete privacy and personal relaxation and, with all the luxuries described above, allow you to be as self-sufficient as you prefer. A delicious full breakfast (continental & cooked), using the finest fresh local and home made produce, is served daily in the dining room, overlooking the magnificent front garden. There surely can be no better place to welcome in each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing