We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Admirals Motor Inn(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$58
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Abelia Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$65
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Almond House Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$45
US$32
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
90
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotorcycle tourvarious breadshistorical houseother guestsshort walk from the centremodern conveniencesfriendly hostsmueslihighly recommend this b brooms are largeheat pumplaundry serviceguest loungelovely houseone nighttea coffeecooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Ray was an excellent host who accommodated us at short notice. An historic house built in the1800's, nicely decorated with lots of local art, clean, comfortable and homely. Superb breakfast! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room which had all the usual facilities, own bathroom with bath and shower.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardfeeney2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thanks Richard. Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Although the structure is 100+ the owners have done a very nice job updating for modern conveniences without loosing the character of the building. Quiet street just outside of city center - 10-15 minute walk - generous cooked breakfast and very pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Many thanks. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our house. Ray and Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This B & B looks very nicely kept as you approach it and then the inside does not disappoint. The hosts are Ray and Jules and these two are just lovely people and could not be more helpful. We were greeted by Ray who had a unobtrusive yet interested way about him. He advised where to park and where might be locally of interest. When we wanted a bottle opener he was quick to oblige. The room was clean and spacious with lovely pictures on the walls. We were allowed to use their own phone to arrange to meet some friends and then we had the availability of the large and comfortable lounge area to socialise in. We arrived and left on a motorbike and this is a biker friendly establishment and as I understand it they have hosted many bikers in the past. Jules produced a cracking breakfast and we ate together with other travellers in the lounge which was great, Tea and coffee was available and regularly replenished. I have never stopped in a place where there was such a huge selection of different types of tea in the room. Very impressive and it tempted me to try a few new ones. These hosts are lovely people and they seem to be in just the right trade. We are unlikely to visit New Zealand again but if we do and we visit Nelson this is where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thanks Tony. What a lovely review. Much appreciated. Ray and Jules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We spent 4 nights at Collingwood Manor over a 3-week period. Our hosts were welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. They even went the extra mile and assisted in setting up a birthday surprise for my brother from his children in the U.S. on our last night in NZ. It was waiting in his room upon his arrival. I even observed them calling local restaurants to see who could accommodate a couple wanting a kosher dinner. Our hosts made the calls, asked questions and made dinner reservations for the couple.

Suites were roomy, extremely clean, with all of the amenities one would need. The whole place was tastefully decorated to the time period and comfortable. Breakfast was at a large table with other guests, which made for a wonderful opportunity to meet other people from other lands. Ray and Jules had a great variety of continental breakfast items and Ray also cooked to order. On our first morning at the Manor we had to leave at 4:30 to catch a ferry in Picton. Since we would be missing breakfast, Ray made us delicious sandwiches (on the best bread ever) to take with us on the ferry. Truly thoughtful—and appreciated!

One of their friends even tried assisting my brother with his iPad issues. They had laundry service available which was particularly helpful to us since we were on a motorcycle tour and had a limited wardrobe. They also stored our travel cases until the end of our tour.

We could easily walk to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, post, banks, Riverwalk, botanical gardens and historical sites. It is in a wonderful location and a place I would highly recommend as a house full of charm and perfect hosts.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank lmkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thanks Lyn. It was a pleasure having you and Dick stay with us. You both left a lasting impression on us and you were like family members in the end! It was great getting to know you both. Hopefully see you again on your next trip over. Kind Regards, Ray and Jules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Would definitely recommend this b&b. We decide to stay in Nelson for two nights so that we could do a vineyard tour. We saw this b&b online & called to check availability. They gave us the rate we had seen online through TripAdvisor. Which was slightly cheaper than the price they quoted on the phone.
We were greeted by Ray when we arrived in the evening, very friendly host. Our room was well equipped with everything we needed. Had a fridge, tea/coffee/milk/water, iron, toiletries, to, wifi. They offer a laundry service as well for $20 per load washed & dried which we thought was a great idea although we didn't actually use it.
Breakfast was plentiful with continental ready to help yourself to & then they offer you a cooked breakfast as well. Which included eggs, bacon, avocado, tomatoes and hash browns. Tea & coffee of course. The breakfast is served in a lounge area, which has a large dining table all guests sit at together. So it was nice to chat with other guests and hear their travels stories and tips.
The walk into town took around 15mins and there are lots of restaurants to choose from, Plus there is a supermarket about a five minute walk over the bridge.
Our tour guide for our vineyard trip came and picked us up from the Collingwood manor which was great and Ray kindly called us a taxi on our departure so that we could collect our hire car for the next leg of our trip.
There was a huge supply of tourist info in the hallway so if you were short of ideas for the local area just ask Ray or Jules and they will point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: This b&b has 5 rooms, we stayed in Margaret's room which was near the front door/hallway however was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank virginbeautie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-and-Jules, Owner at Collingwood Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews