We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
127
206
74
29
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
206
74
29
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower over the bathlarge hotelpublic areasconference venuegood sizegreat townnew zealandreception staffcentral locationbit datedmini barbars and restaurantsfree wifiappointed roomscomfortable bedfew minutes walkthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We loved this hotel with its fantastic staff.

The interior has an "old worldy" ambience in the public areas. The room was spacious with a pleasant urban view. It is located in the centre of the CBD within walking distance to a variety of cafes. There are plenty of short and interesting walks in close proximity to the hotel. There is a pool and gym.

The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better city views
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderSiebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Rose M,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I gladly share your encouraging feedback with our team.
Providing an exceptional guest experience is what our team is striving for. Our central location and facilities is what makes Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel the ideal spot for a relaxing get away on a leisure trip or for business.

We do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

The team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Room was a good size but a bit outdated. Room could have been cleaner. The air con wasn't the best and we were cold most of the time we were there. Was also fairly noisy. Could hear people in corridor and in room next door.
We had breakfast just one morning. It was extremely busy and there was a definite lack of food. No Eggs or bacon.
Staff in reception were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank EggGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderSiebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear EggGirl,

thank you very much for leaving us your feedback.
Naturally we are disappointed reading that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have hoped. Please accept our apologies for the areas in which we can improve. I have shared your comments with our food and beverage and housekeeping team and am confident that we have been able to resolve the issues you mentioned.

At the same time it is great to hear that you had a good experience with our reception team and I will gladly share your comments with the team.

Once again thank you for your feedback as it is important to us knowing when we haven't gotten it "just right" in order to improve in the future.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for work, great location - walking distance to town for shops, gallery and cafes. Rooms are immaculate & the Japanese restaurant inside the hotel is lovely.
Staff are amazing & really helpful. Hotel could do with a new paint job but other than that a really nice place to stay with lovely views & a gym

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Diversions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderSiebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Diversions,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your encouraging feedback.
I will gladly share your comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ Heritage Hotel.

Best regards

The team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

A lovely hotel in an excellent location. The staff were friendly and efficient and checking in and checking out were a breeze.
The rooms were spacious and had all of the facilities expected. The beds were comfortable and I slept well (unusual when away from home).
There were some downsides however. The drapes need to be a bit thicker as there was a draught from the cold windows and the public areas could have been warmer.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mitsilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Lovely hotel, centrally located, friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms are a really good size, beds comfortable, wifi included. Great location for business or pleasure. I was attending a conference and the facilities were excellent, everything went smoothly. The food was really. I’ve too.
I was particularly impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble and there were always plenty of staff available.

Room Tip: Corner suite was lovely and sunny
Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank KerryB2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews