We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional service, excellent food.”

The Sands Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #1 of 37 Quick Bites in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: The Sands Fish and Chip Shop. Now that we are at level 1 it is business as usual,We also have click and collect down load EATS365 order and pay online then come and pick up. A big thank you for all the people who have posted a comment on Trip Adviser, We are now listed in the Top 10% of resturants in the World, once again THANK YOU Roy and Bruce owners.
Restaurant details
Description: The Sands Fish and Chip Shop. Now that we are at level 1 it is business as usual,We also have click and collect down load EATS365 order and pay online then come and pick up. A big thank you for all the people who have posted a comment on Trip Adviser, We are now listed in the Top 10% of resturants in the World, once again THANK YOU Roy and Bruce owners.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Blue cod and kumara chips - beautifully cooked, tasty and fresh. This fish and chip shop is near Tahuna beach on the main road. Very handy for dusk suppers on the sand or you can sit outside the shop at the tables there.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Efficient, friendly phone order taken quickly and pleasantly. Order ready EXACTLY at time stated
Marie #31

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank alltoohardmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fritterlicious!

I am “old school “, and remember “back in the day” how proper kiwi potato fritters were. Lightly & crispy, golden like the summer sun, the sea salt from the beach gently dusting them. And potatoes! Proper spud! Memories! ... Not any longer - they’re back! Renamed by this sensational Aussie chef at Nelson. Reinvented as “Potato Scallops”. I can live that name, so GREAT were they ! Dive in! I did!

Did I mention the chips? So so so good!

And the salt and pepper calamari? It was only missing wedges of lemon which this Jaffa did not have to hand.

A mandatory visit, if you to miss proper potato fritters with your chips! Take a Lemon for their excellent s&p calamari!
Good on ya mate!!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Passenger332907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bloody amazing love the burgers and the gravy and chip the burgers are very filling and love the amazing nice staff working their asses off would definitely recommend

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Ry4nDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

Stale and tasteless fish and chips, very disappointing given the rave reviews. Definitely won’t recommend.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Kaapstad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sands Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Sands Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.