We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers N.Z.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greens Motel Nelson
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Nice clean room, friendly welcome but after that.............
Our bathroom window lock was broken and the room therefore insecure ( was fixed after we reported it). The toaster blew up when we used it ( was replaced). The ironing board was broken in half. We hadn't realised when we booked that the motel was almost on the runway of Nelson airport (our fault I suppose). Nice waving to all those people on all those very loud aeroplanes. Worst of all was the " free wifi" which just didn't work. Even when the teenage daughter was called in to have a look. Apparently it just "doesn't like" Apple devices. My husbands device wasn't Apple, but his wouldn't work much either. This was a real pain for us as we really needed wifi access. Never mind, plenty of material to write a new series of Fawlty Towers

Room Tip: No way to avoid noise, buy upper rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jancrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for staying at Greens Motel this is family owned motel and not a chain with extra staff to call on.Everything was fixed as asked.Things get broken or worn out in Motels and we do everything we can to keep up with this.The location is quiet as it is located on the Nelson golf course with no all night traffic and the plane's don't fly at night.This guest didn't book over internet and drove around to pick Motel location upon arriving they only booked one night but then decided to stay 5.It is very upsetting as an owner to be judge in this way after all our hard work.We have no control over internet service or reception we receive and option's where offered.
I put in 100% everyday into my business and enjoy meeting new people everyday I just wish people could be understanding before writing a negative review that affects peoples judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2015

My wife and I stayed at this motel for 3 nights recently as it was close to our son's house in Nelson. Unfortunately the service/welcome was very off hand on arrival, we were shown where to get our milk, our room number and away we went.
The room was upstairs (no problem to us) and was roomy for a studio. The bed proved very comfortable and we both had good nights sleeps.
On checking the compendium it said if you want a morning paper please organise with the office. Being a regular morning paper reader I asked for a paper at the office but alas the woman said they don't do papers anymore because the Press Company doesn't deliver to them anymore. She said because their orders were under 3 papers on occasions their order had been dropped so no paper. Either take it out of your compendium or get them back.
The next shock was the Wifi. You have to pay for it, a minimum of $8 per 20MB and upwards. I have never paid for Wifi and have stayed at a lot of motels/hotels. If you use excessive amounts sure you pay but not from the word go. I have owned/run an accommodation business for the last 6 years and have never charged for WIFI nor do any other motel in our town except for excess use. Time to get with it.

A comfortable bed, large unit but you need to tweak a few things.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarknJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

I'm sorry you felt my welcoming off hand, I love welcoming guest to Motel.The internet is only charged if people haven't booked over the internet.We keep this as an option because not everyone requires internet.Losing The press newspaper service was disappointing and beyond our control but will defiantly update our compendiums.Thank you for your advise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Modern, clean and quiet motel, with friendly reception staff. We booked a studio for 2 nights and were given a one bedroom unit, which was a much-appreciated bonus for us as we had arrived very tired after a long day travelling. Our unit was on the second floor, nicely fitted-out with a small balcony, good kitchen facilities and very comfortable bed. The complex is quiet - it is set back from the road so there is no road noise, and seems well sound-proofed between units. It is close to the airport and on the flight path in and out, but this did not disturb us (There are not that many flights and seemed not to be any from about 10pm to 7am). The only potential difficulty some might have is with the shower access - it's a shower over a spa bath and I think might prove tricky for children or elderly. The complex is best for those who have their own transport as it's not within walking distance of the beach or shops, but fine with a car - we were at the beach in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for your lovely review of Motel and I'm pleased your needs are meet.Yes we do watch that we don't put older guest into these units as shower over bathes is always a hazard. I'm pleased you had enjoyed your stay in Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

I had reason to make a quick business trip to Nelson and settled on Greens Motel, mainly because of a good Booking.Com price, which also offered a late 2pm check-out for Booking.Com Genius registered users.
The motel is easy to find and will suit guests who fly into Nelson, because of its proximity to the airport.
The motel receptionist was helpful and friendly which is always a good start, and supplied fresh milk for tea or coffee, plus a paper.
I was allocated a unit with a disabled facility bathroom, but that was not a particular problem, although the single bed was fairly stiff and hard.

However it was the wifi services that were interestingly difficult. The motel obviously uses Xtra/Spark as its ISP and the motel wifi system as part of its authorisation demands that you change your computer settings so that emails were sent using the Xtra IP address...It all proved difficult, so it was back to using my phone as a hotspot.

The only other issue was that in the morning when I asked about the late check-out as offered by Booking.Com...I was informed that I should not have been offered that facility....strange business.
All of that aside, the motel is clean, tidy & fresh looking and handy to both the airport and main road access.

Room Tip: Avoid the single bed rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BruceWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for your review and advice all has been taken on board.Sorry we where not able to offer the late check out on this occasion as the room was needed due to being full and new guest checking in at 2pm.The internet seems to be a provider fault and not something we can control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

It would have been nice if both rooms had a mirror. And if the kitchen had bit more bench space.
The bathroom was nice. And overall our stay was pleasant.
Staff was okay, though we have already paid and they insisted that we haven't and weren't very friendly. After I had to dig out my email, they realised that we did actually pay already...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephan-anel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for your review and your tips we can use regarding mirror all these idea's help us provide better for the guest. Motel kitchen's are always smaller than home and making cooking fun.I'm sorry about mix up over payment we will watch for this in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.6 km away
Mid City Motor Lodge
Mid City Motor Lodge
#32 of 41 in Nelson
1 reviews
1.0 km away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#17 of 41 in Nelson
95 reviews
4.1 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
134 reviews
2.6 km away
Boutique Motel Nelson
Boutique Motel Nelson
#21 of 41 in Nelson
113 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 41 in Nelson
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greens Motel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greens Motel Nelson

Address: 36 Golf Haven Way, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: RM299 - RM565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greens Motel Nelson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greens Motel - a putt away from the green Closest Motel to Nelson Airport.We are in the middle -Located half way between Nelson City and the Tasman district and so perfectly located to explore all of what the Sunshine capital has to offer.Located right on Nelson Golf clubs 18 hole championship links course.Adjacent to the picturesque waters of Tasman Bay.This beautiful seaside course is popular all year round.Choose us for your Wedding venue,anniversaries,reunions,funeral wake's.Phil and Jill Neal are your hosts at Greens Motel, and take pride ensuring that your stay in their apartment style motel is both relaxing and enjoyable. Sit in the garden or on your balcony with your favorite drink and soak up the sun that the Nelson region is famous for. Greens Motel is wheelchair accessible and convenient for both the corporate, the adventure traveler or for those just needing some time away from home.Greens Motel is the ideal location to work and/or play .Great selection of studio, one or two bedroom motel apartments. Corporate rates for the business traveler Off street parking. This Nelson motel is a great base from which you can shop or explore the Nelson region. Enjoy Nelsons mild climate conditions, with New Zealand's most sunshine hour's city. Ski rainbow ski field this winter or cruse around visiting the WOW museum and many boutique galleries.Ask us about our Golf Packages. They can be tailored for the most devoted players, or the casual amateurs. Head around the course as a couple or a family and relax. Hire a mountain bike and go exploring, or organize a tour around one of Nelson's breweries. There is much to see and do, all whilst staying at Greens Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greens Motel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing