We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY THERE!! Should be category worse than terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greens Motel Nelson
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 27 March 2016

I hope that this expected?
On arrival there was confusion ...i.e. Not expected until the next day? Oo you could fit us in?
I wish you hadn't!

I'll start with a good point......rooms are adequate. Twin beds located in between kitchen and lounge area. Not much in the way of a cooking facility....two electric jobs and a microwave oven.
Separate bedroom with double bed is nice.
Nice bathroom with a spa bath...it worked...whoop whoop!

Ok that's it!

Stayed for 2 nights...... Now for the down side!

Shower screen broken... We had to reattach every time used. It was also dirty..mouldy.
No air con.

At the end of the run way! Really!! The flights start early...end late! Believe me..we heard them. I have nice photos of planes taking off! Maybe take earplugs as no one seems to have any?

And now, as for the 2 nights we stayed........ I had to phone the manager on the number from website...not in the info we had? Asked him to try to settle the noise down from a HUGE group of young men (we found out later...a baseball team!) ......don't know if that happened....didn't appear to, as the noise went on most of the night into the next morning......sitting outside my bedroom window..glasses being smashed...loud drunks all night! Next door..up and down the stairs...rooms above! This until after 4am!
Next morning I asked the manager if we could be moved? The answer........NO...we're full. Now having just seen 2 people check out? Really?
And the next reply.......well they'll all be tired tonight...they've been up all night!!! Again REALLY! Nope you didn't want me to talk to the coach either? And guess what....yep same again the second night.........you should be absolutely ashamed of yourselves.
I believe you are selling yourselves as a 4 star motel. We stayed at a backpacker motel which was far superior to you! Better facilities, better staff, just better all round!

Service: maybe as well as change of bathroom towels.....a clean tea towel? Only 1? And not changed?



Nelson was a place I really wanted to visit...I hope I never have to return after this experience.

I should really be pushing for a refund! Disgusting disgusting disgusting!

Room Tip: There are none! You may as well be on the run way of Nelson airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank georgieo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

It is also disappointing to us you didn't enjoy your stay.We work very hard and I mean very hard to please every guest.It's just unfortunate other guest staying didn't respect our property and other peoples enjoyment.This team( adult men) will no longer be welcome due to the damage and disruption.When a guest check out it doesn't mean we can automatically move people as people checking in on the same day also have request.The location is on an Airport and this fact is clearly advised and planes start at 7am from 10pm.With windows closed these can not be heard.We had not been advised about the shower door so not possible to fix.The kitchenette is also stated with basic cooking facilities, when on holiday it's great to make a cup of tea and some bacon & eggs for breakfast.Then in the evening dine out at Nelson's amazing restaurants.Please take this as my apology and we will watch how teams behave in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2016

This motel is near a golf course. We had a room on the first floor accomodating for five people. The rooms are spacious and it was clean. It was not near the town centre but if you have a car that is not a problem. We had problem with the wifi, just could not connect even though we had the password. A so so motel. A one night stay is ok for us.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

We are looking into new wifi option's as we also and now disappointed in their service to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This motel is quite a bit out of town, and there are no restaurants nearby, but it is right at the entrance to the golf course. The apartment was clean and comfortable. It was large with separate double room and a good sized open plan area with 2 single beds, settee and a dinning space with table and 4 chairs and full cooking facilities.. A breakfast option is available. Wi-Fi was free but data was very limited.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This is a reasonably priced motel in a nice location. Unfortunately the WiFi is generally hopeless. I had plans of doing some work that involved more than a bit of internet access, and frankly the connection was unavailable more often than not, and when I did manage to connect the service was painfully slow. I would not return.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank RobDavisCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

This service will be upgraded as we are also disappointed in the service provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Recently renovated, spacious rooms. Nice outdoor area with picnic table

Very close to airport with free transfer (730am onwards altho the manager was very nice and took us a few mins earlier).

The only negative is the wifi was weak.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.6 km away
Mid City Motor Lodge
Mid City Motor Lodge
#32 of 41 in Nelson
1 reviews
1.0 km away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
95 reviews
4.1 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
134 reviews
2.6 km away
Boutique Motel Nelson
Boutique Motel Nelson
#21 of 41 in Nelson
113 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 41 in Nelson
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greens Motel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greens Motel Nelson

Address: 36 Golf Haven Way, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: RM300 - RM559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greens Motel Nelson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greens Motel - a putt away from the green Closest Motel to Nelson Airport.We are in the middle -Located half way between Nelson City and the Tasman district and so perfectly located to explore all of what the Sunshine capital has to offer.Located right on Nelson Golf clubs 18 hole championship links course.Adjacent to the picturesque waters of Tasman Bay.This beautiful seaside course is popular all year round.Choose us for your Wedding venue,anniversaries,reunions,funeral wake's.Phil and Jill Neal are your hosts at Greens Motel, and take pride ensuring that your stay in their apartment style motel is both relaxing and enjoyable. Sit in the garden or on your balcony with your favorite drink and soak up the sun that the Nelson region is famous for. Greens Motel is wheelchair accessible and convenient for both the corporate, the adventure traveler or for those just needing some time away from home.Greens Motel is the ideal location to work and/or play .Great selection of studio, one or two bedroom motel apartments. Corporate rates for the business traveler Off street parking. This Nelson motel is a great base from which you can shop or explore the Nelson region. Enjoy Nelsons mild climate conditions, with New Zealand's most sunshine hour's city. Ski rainbow ski field this winter or cruse around visiting the WOW museum and many boutique galleries.Ask us about our Golf Packages. They can be tailored for the most devoted players, or the casual amateurs. Head around the course as a couple or a family and relax. Hire a mountain bike and go exploring, or organize a tour around one of Nelson's breweries. There is much to see and do, all whilst staying at Greens Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greens Motel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing