We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
186
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blueberry pancakes new zealand abel tasman comfortable bed superb hosts muesli old friends charming b b wearable art golden bay main road pete kiwi lounge driveway cyclone
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The room was comfortable; the bathroom was spacious; the breakfast choice was large, but Ambleside deserves a 5-star rating for the service provided by Peter and his family which was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for our friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikegray837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you Mike, it was such a pleasure having you both stay! We're glad the weather improved and that you made the best of your time in Nelson.
All the very best for the big day on the 24th!! Warmest regards Pete and Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Imagine flying halfway around the globe to a place you've never been before and instantly feeling at home—without having to do any of the cleaning, cooking, or yard maintenance. Welcome to Ambleside! From the moment we pulled into Peter and Janine's driveway at 9pm and were greeted at our car by the gregarious (and barefoot) Peter, we knew we'd made the right choice for our stay in Nelson. What we didn't know was that Peter and Janine would quickly come to feel like old friends—exceptionally welcoming, authentically warm, and 2 of the most hospitable people we've ever visited while traveling. Their home is immaculate and very comfortable (thanks, too, to neighbor Rachel for her excellent and friendly service), located within walking distance of the beach or slightly longer walking distance (~45 minutes) to downtown Nelson—or, you can catch the local bus downtown from right across the street. Don't miss the inspiring and outrageous WOW (World of Wearable Art) Museum only 5 minutes from Ambleside, either. Peter is a phenomenal cook, carefully preparing each morning's delicious, made-to-order breakfast and serving it up with good humor; each evening, he poured us a glass of wine or juice like we were guests at a 5-star hotel. Not surprisingly, this homey atmosphere inspired guests to spend evening time together on the back patio, where we met people from Germany, Denmark, Britain, and China over the course of our visit. We'd originally planned to stay at Ambleside for 3 nights, but were fortunately able to add a fourth when a cyclone cut our wonderful trip to Abel Tasman a day short; Peter and Janine graciously stored our bags for us while we were away and had them waiting for us in our room when we returned. We highly recommend Ambleside to fellow travelers—and Peter and Janine, we hope to see you again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulawolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

What a beautifully written and touching review! It was wonderful having you both and we are so glad that you had a great time both at Ambleside and in the region. It was very easy to offer such lovely people hospitality and we so enjoyed the chats and the laughs. We would dearly love to see you again. Warmest regards Pete and Janine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Conveniently located a few kilometers outside Nelson's center, Ambleside B&B is a lovely place where we had a beautiful room with great amenities. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, with great suggestions for restaurants and helpful info. for our travels. Breakfast was nicely done, and we enjoyed our conversations with Peter.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drswhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and great advice to others considering Ambleside. This one is a little hard for us to determine who it is from but I am sure we enjoyed having you stay just as much. Warm regards Peter and Janine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Absolutely the best I’ve stayed in. Peter and Janine are so welcoming,, and made us feel part if the family. Their dog Frankie is adorable, unfortunately is not aloud to come sleep on your bed...lol
Peter cooks a delicious breakfast, lots to choose from, plus they catered to my Gluten allergy.
Very comfortable bed and nice size rooms.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Wow! what a great review! We loved having you stay, you were such good company. We thought it was hilarious that with all the travel Ted does, that he still leaves things behind:)
We hope the remaining holiday is all that you deserve and would welcome you back any time. Warmest regards.
Peter and Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Pete and Janine were perfect hosts and it was a wonderful stay at their Bed & Breakfast! We slept in a cozy room with super clean and nice bathroom. The breakfast in the beautiful garden was nothing but delicious.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leonie_Hachtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your great review, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us. Billie loved you!! Peter was relieved that you thought the librarian joke was funny:) We hope your holiday has been perfect. Warmest regards Pete and Janine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews