We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at the beautiful B & B. Marilyn was the best host!!! We were on a girls quilting weekend, and Marilyn kept us feed us breakfast, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea - so much yummy food. Nothing was to much trouble. The house is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful place in January. The house is beautiful, nicely restored and the rooms are very comfortable and immaculate. The quilts made by Marilyn are lovely, and give the place such a nice warm touch. Marilyn was a superb hostess, and went to a lot of trouble to help us rearrange some activities affected by the weather. It was a really nice place to begin our New Zealand trip. Our favorite thing, besides the lovely accomodations and Marilyn's great breakfasts, was sitting on the verandah in the evening with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reed2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent 5 nights staying in the garden suite of this fantastic B&B;, situated 10 minutes stroll from Russell. I can honestly say it was one of the best B&Bs; we have stayed in, if not the best.
The room was immaculate and had everything that you needed and more.The breakfasts were to die for, not the place to stay if you want to lose weight!!
Marilyn's patchwork quilts were truely inspirational. I would reccommend this B&B; to anyone without hesitation. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Good facilities in the garden suite, a spa bath, microwave and fridge, small kitchen area. Own terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed at in the cottage for 2 nights in early March. Marilyn and Lee couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. The main house and cottage are very cosy and have a lovely homely feel. On arrival Marilyn gave us a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir and a beautiful zucchini and chocolate slice she baked, it was delicious. Marilyn and Lee were both very knowledgable about the area and advised on what to do and visit. Her breakfasts are a must! Only $20 and they set you up for the day. They couldn't have done anything else to make our stay more comfortable. Will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineandPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Marilyn's home for 3 nights in January, in my favourite place, Bay of Islands. We were made welcome with a tray of tea and coffee, and home made cakes - then a bottle of wine. Location was brilliant, across the road from the bay. Lovely room, enjoyed the chocolates and good quality and range of toiletries. Breakfast was fabulous, and we appreciated Marilyn leaving food available when we had to get up very early to go to Cape Reinga. Fabulous place, great stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.8 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.7 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
3.6 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
246 reviews
0.6 km away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 19 in Russell
350 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Russell
Villa Russell
#6 of 19 in Russell
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: RM788 - RM848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing