We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke of Marlborough Hotel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$50
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Tiki Tiki Ora(Russell)
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Nest(Russell)
US$767
US$712
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
137
10
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
10
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitehome made cakesbeautiful quiltsbedrooms and two bathroomsfresh flowershighly recommend this b bhomemade breadon arrivalmatauri bayyacht clubhistorical homebeautiful homesteadgreat christmaspreserved fruitzucchini frittersnew zealandculinary skills
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful place in January. The house is beautiful, nicely restored and the rooms are very comfortable and immaculate. The quilts made by Marilyn are lovely, and give the place such a nice warm touch. Marilyn was a superb hostess, and went to a lot of trouble to help us rearrange some activities affected by the weather. It was a really nice place to begin our New Zealand trip. Our favorite thing, besides the lovely accomodations and Marilyn's great breakfasts, was sitting on the verandah in the evening with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reed2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent 5 nights staying in the garden suite of this fantastic B&B;, situated 10 minutes stroll from Russell. I can honestly say it was one of the best B&Bs; we have stayed in, if not the best.
The room was immaculate and had everything that you needed and more.The breakfasts were to die for, not the place to stay if you want to lose weight!!
Marilyn's patchwork quilts were truely inspirational. I would reccommend this B&B; to anyone without hesitation. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Good facilities in the garden suite, a spa bath, microwave and fridge, small kitchen area. Own terrace area leading out to garden. very private.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed at in the cottage for 2 nights in early March. Marilyn and Lee couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. The main house and cottage are very cosy and have a lovely homely feel. On arrival Marilyn gave us a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir and a beautiful zucchini and chocolate slice she baked, it was delicious. Marilyn and Lee were both very knowledgable about the area and advised on what to do and visit. Her breakfasts are a must! Only $20 and they set you up for the day. They couldn't have done anything else to make our stay more comfortable. Will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineandPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Marilyn's home for 3 nights in January, in my favourite place, Bay of Islands. We were made welcome with a tray of tea and coffee, and home made cakes - then a bottle of wine. Location was brilliant, across the road from the bay. Lovely room, enjoyed the chocolates and good quality and range of toiletries. Breakfast was fabulous, and we appreciated Marilyn leaving food available when we had to get up very early to go to Cape Reinga. Fabulous place, great stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed in the Garden Suite for four nights, it ended our three week stay in New Zealand beautifully. Marilyn could not do enough for you, even to baking a Birthday cake!
Breakfast was a feast of homemade goodies.
Russell is beautiful haven of rest, Marilyn advised us on an amazing journey back to Auckland Airport and a flight home which made our last day perfect in every way!
Beautiful traditional house in a beautiful lacation very quiet and restful.
If you play golf Waitangi Golf Course is a must, stunning views!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 650Julia650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews