We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We enjoyed a weeks escape from Auckland in the wonderful cottage.Marilyn welcomed us, after an enjoyable drive up the coast road, with wine and tasty home baked salted caramel squares ! yum.
The fire was great on the cool nights after our various excursions in area, lots to see and do even though many places were closed for the winter season.
Definately head to Kerikeri for weekend markets and take a short drive to the numerous beaches for walks and chuck in a line(we caught fish every day!)
The locals at boating club across the bay near the cottage made us very welcome as did the RSA in town, no need to be members either!
All i all a great spot to spend a weekend /week and relax/enjoy the surroundings

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Wonderfu,l tidy guests who really looked after the cottage during their stay and left it clean and organized: rubbish etc.
So glad you guys enjoyed your time with us as the weather could have been kinder...the wettest, colest week of winter thus far.....
Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Loved our stay here - style is not trendy, more cosy and we liked that both for variety on our trip and at this stage of our travels ready for something more homely. Room comfortable, good shower etc. Liked the tea and coffee making facilities and the lounge to sit in and watch tv/read. The building is beautiful and loved the history of it being moved - wow !

Breakfast was great with something different and a little unusual each day as well as fruit, cereal, toast etc.

Well located to walk into Russell, take the ferry, boat trips and walk - we didn't use our car while we were here for a couple of days.

Host very friendly and gave us lots of really useful info on the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi Guys, sorry for the late response...simply forgetful on my part.
I do appreciate your thoughtful comments and was indeed very happy for you to stay with us and enjoyed our b/fast chatter.
Hope you found time to enjoy your holiday being in so many different parts of the world:
you guys are real globe trotters.
Enjoy.
Thanks,
Marilyn N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We spent 4 nights in this most enchanting heritage building. Room was delightful, very spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Marilyn (owner) is a very charming person, making you feel very at home as soon as you enter her house. Breakfasts were very tasty and not the norm. She is an excellent cook, everything was homemade and delicious.

Limited internet access

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor, easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks do much for your kind words and review of your stay with us .
So happy to hear you loved your time in Russell and Satying here.
Lots of good wishes for the future...may you find other great B.& B's in N.Z. when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed in the cottage in the garden, which was spacious and comfortable (but some might find it dated). We took breakfast with other guests in the main house.
Marilyn was a mine of useful information, and her breakfasts a culinary delight (although those who like straightforward cooking might find it over-complex).
The gardens are perfect, with a terrific outlook over the inlet. An unforgettable part of our holiday in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndrewMarks31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks Andrew.
Your family were a delight and all very appreciative which makes my job much more worthwhile.
the cottage was built as a beach/holiday bach for an anaesthetist @ Whangarei hospital back in the 1930's, so is indeed very old, all native timbers, but with modern facilities inside, which make this a very cosy space, while still retaining the old world cahrm of a little bach....albeit it is hardly small by todays standards.
take care and stay warm and healthy.
marilyn N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

What a perfect weekend spent at this wonderful heritage building, transformed into a comfortable and welcoming BnB. Marilyn is the perfect host and a fabulous cook - make sure you enjoy her generous breakfasts! My room was very comfortable and clean and I loved the personal touches like the bed quilts and the linen that Marilyn has obviously cross stitched herself. The BnB is not right in Russell Village itself, but it's only a 10 minute walk or so away. There is a lovely little beach directly across the road.

Room Tip: the room that backs onto the kitchen may not suit a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z1bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
We love to share our old house with others who appeciate our heritage and enjoy the "fruits" of many hours of hand work which you can appreciate all around the house.
This house is a real labour of love and we treat our guest with the same respect.
Glad you had a great time in Russell.
All the best,
Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.8 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.7 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
3.6 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
246 reviews
0.6 km away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 19 in Russell
350 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Russell
Villa Russell
#6 of 19 in Russell
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: RM788 - RM854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing