We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Clendon(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hananui Lodge and Apartments(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore's Lodge(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eagles Nest(Russell)
US$1,056
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Lodge(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Russell(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
137
10
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
10
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitebeautiful quiltsbedrooms and two bathroomshighly recommend this b bfruit treesmatauri bayyacht clubhistorical homewonderful heritagezucchini frittersnew zealandthe perfect hostgreat cooklovely gardenbreakfast was amazingquiet baywatch tv
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Loved our stay here - style is not trendy, more cosy and we liked that both for variety on our trip and at this stage of our travels ready for something more homely. Room comfortable, good shower etc. Liked the tea and coffee making facilities and the lounge to sit in and watch tv/read. The building is beautiful and loved the history of it being moved - wow !

Breakfast was great with something different and a little unusual each day as well as fruit, cereal, toast etc.

Well located to walk into Russell, take the ferry, boat trips and walk - we didn't use our car while we were here for a couple of days.

Host very friendly and gave us lots of really useful info on the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi Guys, sorry for the late response...simply forgetful on my part.
I do appreciate your thoughtful comments and was indeed very happy for you to stay with us and enjoyed our b/fast chatter.
Hope you found time to enjoy your holiday being in so many different parts of the world:
you guys are real globe trotters.
Enjoy.
Thanks,
Marilyn N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We spent 4 nights in this most enchanting heritage building. Room was delightful, very spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Marilyn (owner) is a very charming person, making you feel very at home as soon as you enter her house. Breakfasts were very tasty and not the norm. She is an excellent cook, everything was homemade and delicious.

Limited internet access

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor, easy access.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks do much for your kind words and review of your stay with us .
So happy to hear you loved your time in Russell and Satying here.
Lots of good wishes for the future...may you find other great B.& B's in N.Z. when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed in the cottage in the garden, which was spacious and comfortable (but some might find it dated). We took breakfast with other guests in the main house.
Marilyn was a mine of useful information, and her breakfasts a culinary delight (although those who like straightforward cooking might find it over-complex).
The gardens are perfect, with a terrific outlook over the inlet. An unforgettable part of our holiday in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndrewMarks31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thanks Andrew.
Your family were a delight and all very appreciative which makes my job much more worthwhile.
the cottage was built as a beach/holiday bach for an anaesthetist @ Whangarei hospital back in the 1930's, so is indeed very old, all native timbers, but with modern facilities inside, which make this a very cosy space, while still retaining the old world cahrm of a little bach....albeit it is hardly small by todays standards.
take care and stay warm and healthy.
marilyn N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

What a perfect weekend spent at this wonderful heritage building, transformed into a comfortable and welcoming BnB. Marilyn is the perfect host and a fabulous cook - make sure you enjoy her generous breakfasts! My room was very comfortable and clean and I loved the personal touches like the bed quilts and the linen that Marilyn has obviously cross stitched herself. The BnB is not right in Russell Village itself, but it's only a 10 minute walk or so away. There is a lovely little beach directly across the road.

Room Tip: the room that backs onto the kitchen may not suit a light sleeper
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z1bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
We love to share our old house with others who appeciate our heritage and enjoy the "fruits" of many hours of hand work which you can appreciate all around the house.
This house is a real labour of love and we treat our guest with the same respect.
Glad you had a great time in Russell.
All the best,
Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed for a week in the Garden Suite, a detached cottage adjacent to the main house. It was spacious very comfortable and private and like the main house is a wonderful heritage building. The decor is lovely especially Marilyn's beautifully decorated quilts and wall hangings. Breakfast were a real treat too. The house fronts on to a lovely quiet bay just a short stroll to the centre of Russell itself. We were made very welcome and had a terrific stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sime5416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Our guestlodge in Russell is a wonderful historic building that our guests love.
I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us.
We loved having you here and getting to know something of your life style and sharing stories.
Keep safe and keep up the golf.
Best regards,
Marilyn and lee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews