We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New, fully equipped mobile homes on a scenic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Chalet during the day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet during the day
View across vineyard to sea Dining & Kitchen from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Chalet during the day
View across vineyard to sea
Dining & Kitchen from deck
Mist over the valley
Bedroom opening from deck
Sunrise over the vines
Other bedroom
Modern kitchen
Reflection of vines in Bedroom window
Open plan living & dining
Full moon over chalet at night
View to the North during day
Bedroom & artwork
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarionBur...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“New, fully equipped mobile homes on a scenic hilltop”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

There are several chalets scattered over a grassy hillside looking across to Paroa Bay and the surrounding vineyards and pastureland. They are very new and we booked ours through airbnb, staying 3 nights. We had instructions on where to find the key (in the key locker) and didn’t meet the owners at all during our stay.

The chalet provided everything we needed: fridge, cooking facilities, washing machine and large drying rack, free wifi, a barbecue on the deck, 2 comfortable double beds each with en suite bathrooms, and a comfy lounge in the central area.

A car is essential to reach the chalets. They are an easy drive from Russell where there is ‘civilisation’ – restaurants, boat trips and a stunningly scenic walk to the headland.

I guess the only potential downside is that the chalet, with all its windows, got very hot during the day, and I would suspect it could get quite cold at night in the cooler seasons.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2014
Hi Marion and the Burkimsher family

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and we really appreciate your feedback. Sorry we couldn't be there to meet you as we were attending a family re-union with Richard's family in the UK.
Just wanted to let you know the two chalets are actually permanent structures and cannot be moved as they have large posts driven into the ground and are then fixed in.

During the winter months the sunshine keeps the chalets very cosy as it is low in the sky and we have infra-red heaters in the bedroom and the heat pump in the lounge to keep them warm overnight. Hopefully one day you might get a chance to come back and experience this in the winter months. We are also having an outside spa installed to enjoy during this time.

Best Regards
The Pearson family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Thanks Alex it was a pleasure having you to stay and hope your Dad had a birthday to remember.
We hope to see you again at Paroa Bay chalets in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
Hi Rico
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we would be very happy to welcome you back to the beautiful bay of islands one day in the future...
Cheers
Claire & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Hoathly Nr East Grinstead
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you to the Gillam family
We really enjoyed having you stay too and hope you can make it back deep down under in the near future

Cheers Claire, Rich and Tess
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hamilton
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Hi Reanie

So glad you enjoyed your stay here and very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to this special part of the world.

Thanks for the photo's too.

Cheers
Richard, Claire & Tess
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$210
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing