We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
608
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
608
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand homemade cookies each morning attention to detail honesty bar sitting room wonderful hosts thoughtful touches b and b wonderful days stunning views three nights easy walk memorable stay local knowledge tea and coffee little touches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing stay in the cottage at Arcadia lodge. Wonderful hosts really took great care of us. Amazing gourmet breakfasts are an option we took on several days at the lodge. The cottage was a lovely space with great views kitchen upstairs lounge and good bedrooms
We will definitely be back

Room tip: Make the most of breakfast and advice from Greg and Peter
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alison and Davi... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
arcadia lodge, Owner at Arcadia Lodge Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alson & David, we loved meeting you and your parents Alison, we hope you had great family time away with them and they are safely back in the UK by now.

We think the cottage is pretty special, being fully self-contained, but guests choosing to treat themselves and come to breakfast- the best of both worlds.

It was great to have you with us and hopefully when you need another Auckland escape you might head our ways, have a great 2023 Peter & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Arcadia Lodge for 4 nights over Christmas. The experience could not have been better. Peter and Greg were perfect hosts. The location was perfect, the room was great and the view beautiful.
The breakfasts were out of this world.
Peter and Greg were quite helpful in orienting us to the area and recommending and organizing activities and meals.
I could go on and on. Suffice it to say that we highly recommend the Arcadia!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTurner220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
arcadia lodge, Owner at Arcadia Lodge Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Michael, well after so many failed attempts at booking and canceling due to covid it was just wonderful to finally get you to us. Thanks for taking time out to share your Arcadia experience with other travellers. All the very best for 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I came to Russell in January 2023 looking for somewhere comfortable to relax for 3 days after a very busy 5 week touring holiday. What a wonderful time we had at Arcadia Lodge!

We were very warmly welcomed upon arrival. Our room was really comfortable and spacious, lovely bathroom and sitting room that looked out over the bay. Peter's breakfasts were incredible - different every day - I'd give him a Michelin star if I could! Greg was very helpful in discussing tours and trips, and things to see and do in the area, and helped book things for us too. We really enjoyed reading about the history of the house and the area, and Greg and Peter were obviously very proud to tell us about it as they clearly enjoy their job so much! The furniture and fittings in the house are all really lovely and interesting. So much thought, care and love have gone into making Arcadia Lodge so comfortable for guests. All in all our stay was just top-notch. The location was excellent - a really nice flat walk into town. Truly beautiful views from the dining room and from our bedroom on the ground floor. There was a kitchen where you could help yourself to tea and coffee, home-made biscuits also an honesty bar which was nice.

We totally enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Arcadia Lodge and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B81ADjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
arcadia lodge, Owner at Arcadia Lodge Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks John, what a lovely comprehensive review.

We think we offer that package deal, a wonderful view over the bay, a slightly quirky old historic house just a stroll around the corner to the Russell village, where we offer so much, quite different from regular tourist traps.

We love hosting great guests and one special point of difference is we don't live in the lodge, but in another house just metres away on the property, we are close enough to help but give our guests freedom to rest and relax.

We hope you had a fantastic 5 week NZ adventure, and wishing you all the best for 2023 P&G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Treat yourself to a special stay with wonderful breakfasts in an historic lodge with great views, decks to relax on and a great selection of wines.

Greg and Peter are charming hosts and have decorated the lodge very tastefully

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank derekgreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
arcadia lodge, Owner at Arcadia Lodge Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing your Arcadia Experience with other travelers. Look after great guest are what we are about and it makes our role as host so enjoyable. thanks again Peter & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2022

This is without doubt one of the nicest places we’ve stayed anywhere in the world. The location is perfect with stunning views out over the bay and just a stroll to the restaurants and wharf. The house and gardens dating back to 1900 are a delight. Our room with the king size bed and private en-suite was very comfortable and the gourmet breakfasts on the deck a highlight every day. The crowning glory of this establishment is the hosts Peter and Greg. Peter picked us up from the ferry late in the evening when we arrived and delivered us back again early in the morning on our departure. He organised our memorable day on the 50 ft racing yacht Phantom and dinner at Sage restaurant, another real treat. Meanwhile Greg made sure our room was clean and tidy every day. It was lovely chatting with both of them. Thanks guys, you’re the best.

Room tip: The king bed room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable with a sofa. A good choice.
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarthK190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
arcadia lodge, Owner at Arcadia Lodge Russell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Garth, it was a pleasure to have you with us, we are sorry about the delayed reply to this review as we have had a huge busy season with travelers from across the world.

Greg & I love what we do and are pleased it shows. We think the one thing that sets us apart is we live in a separate house on the property, so we are near enough to assist guests when required, but have freedom to unwind and relax, after all that's what holidays are all about.

Thanks again and we loved meeting you and come back and see us sometime, Peter & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews