We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful loft, wonderful hosts, gorgeous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loft Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Loft Studio
Queen, Kitchenette and En suite
Private Gazebo and BBQ Area
Sunset On The Bay
Sailing Regatte Viewed from Property
Entry Path Palms and Bromeliads
Beach Toys
Local Residents
Boardwalk to Russell
Sunset from the Beach Patio
Morning Paddle to Russell Pier
Island Exploration
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tropevent...
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful loft, wonderful hosts, gorgeous location”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wow--everything exceeded our expectations! Cindy and Al were wonderful, interesting, well-informed hosts. The loft was exactly what we wanted--a beautiful, private getaway in the tropical vegetation, overlooking Bay of Islands. It's just a short little walk down to the beach and we enjoyed the kayaks and paddle boards. The outer islands were spectacular and we highly recommend that visitors to Bay of Islands go check them out. Russell was a nice happy hour spot with shopping and small supermarkets, and we thought the Waitangi treaty grounds and museum in nearby Paihia were really well done and informative for those interested in some NZ history. Enjoy this lovely slice of NZ paradise!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Tropical paradise!”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Cindy and Al were such lovely host and with such an amazing property too! The gardens can only be described as a tropical paradise, the views were amazing and inside there was everything you could possibly need.
Would absolutely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to celebrate our 20th anniversary!”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What an absolutely perfect place to experience the Bay of Islands! Cindy and Albee were great hosts - generous, friendly and well informed about the area. The kayaks were a bonus and the view from the loft was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and we were particularly happy with our choice of accommodation. We will definitely be back and we will definitely stay at the Bay Of Islands Beach House Loft!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank You Gavin & Claire. We look forward to your next visit - you guys are great!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Balmain, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing secluded getaway, perfect way to rejuvenate after busy work days”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed three nights at the Beach House Loft. It was just what we needed to slow down after hectic work days and prepare the route for the rest of our New Zealand holiday. The loft is separate from the main house, quiet, clean and nicely appointed. Has wifi access and great massage shower. Being a loft, when sun shines all day (which it did while we were there) it is warm and requires no heating.

It is about 10 minutes drive from Russell township and fully self service so best to stock up on the essentials before you stop for the day. Barbecue is available to cook your own dinner or lunch, but we chose to eat out for lunch rather than have dinner.

You can be as active or sedentary as you wish. The double kayak did not get a workout while we were there but we did have walks along the little private beach.

Really we would rather keep this location a secret, but that would not be fair to owners Cindy and Al, who were delightful hosts and willing to be as helpful or as removed as you wish.

We can highly recommend this private little getaway for couples. You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenn500
Issaquah, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful, quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely detached cottage in a very quiet location a short walk from a nice beach. There is free access to a double kayak and paddle boards. There is a kitchen with a toaster oven. We heard kiwis calling in the middle of the night, a special trreat.The owners are US expats, very friendly and hospitable. The place is hard to find, and some of the markers mentioned on the website are missing or difficult to see. It's worth finding though, and is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing