We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Angel Inn(Ohiya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
107
72
16
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
72
16
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownertea plantationtuk tukhorton plainseco lodgenuwara eliyatrain stationan adventuresri lankaworld's enddeluxe roomamazing viewsguest housepacked breakfastlight houseincluded in the pricebeautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We arrived in the station of Ohiya, from where a tuk tuk drove us along a crazy road to Hill Safari Eco Lodge.

The guesthouse is situated in between the mountains and tea plantations.
It's such a silent and beautiful spot!

The room was superb: extra large bed and beautiful bathroom, with a spectacular view of the valley below.

Eomal and his colleagues are great hosts and provided us detailed information about our train journey to Ohiya and our trip to Horton Plains NP.

Recommended place!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195jeroend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The staff was very friendly and warm. Mr. Gamini and the Food & Beverages Manager gave us a warm welcome..The friendliness of the staff and the way they treated us made me want to go back there. Felt like a home stay..The rooms were very clean..The beds were so comfortable and didn't expect such quality. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Try the outside luxury rooms with a great veiw
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isuri_weerasuriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the lodge in the upstairs room which provided a spectacular view of the valley below which can also be enjoyed from the shower as it has huge windows. We couldn't get a tuk tuk to the lodge because of the Tamil new year public holiday when everyone was on holiday. A kind local assisted us and got the train station attendant to call the lodge and arrange for us to be picked up. The staff at the lodge are outstanding in their constant effort to provide excellent service. Collectively they cook delicious meals which are served in a neat and tidy dining area and they are ever ready to attend to your every need without hesitation. Breakfast was prepared at 6:30am for us on the morning we went to Hatten plains and we had a lovely hot lunch prepared when we returned.
The lodge is in a remote area so there is no reception but the staff used the lodge landline to call and confirm our next accommodation.
We would definitely recommend a stay at Hill Safari Eco Lodge.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Springbok87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge which was made by the food (lots and really tasty), the staff ( really friendly, genuine, helpful and knowledgeable) and the view/balcony from our room (we were in the upper, luxury room) .

It is a great location for a trip to Horton plains.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

After a 'Hill Safari' getting to this place we were blown away by the magnificent views and the peace and tranquility! There is no where quite like it! We experienced delicious food, plenty of wildlife, friendly staff and pleasant rooms. We had a beautiful walk with the children up the mountains and the resident dog followed us all the way to the top!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank cshrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews