We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This place is a great find! They have nice rooms, with hot showers and good water pressure. We stayed in the separate room one level down from the main building. The room had a fabulous view!
We took a tuktuk at 5:30 in the morning to visit Horton Plains and walked back to hill safari from there. We were given a short cut which led through tea plantations where we were greeted by the ladies working in the fields. The breakfast was packed for us so we could eat it at World's End. The dinners were very nice as well and included a lovely dessert. This is a great place to go off the beaten track for a few days. We really liked the fact that there is no WiFi available.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther-in-Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2016

We arrived in the station of Ohiya, from where a tuk tuk drove us along a crazy road to Hill Safari Eco Lodge.

The guesthouse is situated in between the mountains and tea plantations.
It's such a silent and beautiful spot!

The room was superb: extra large bed and beautiful bathroom, with a spectacular view of the valley below.

Eomal and his colleagues are great hosts and provided us detailed information about our train journey to Ohiya and our trip to Horton Plains NP.

Recommended place!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195jeroend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The staff was very friendly and warm. Mr. Gamini and the Food & Beverages Manager gave us a warm welcome..The friendliness of the staff and the way they treated us made me want to go back there. Felt like a home stay..The rooms were very clean..The beds were so comfortable and didn't expect such quality. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Try the outside luxury rooms with a great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isuri_weerasuriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the lodge in the upstairs room which provided a spectacular view of the valley below which can also be enjoyed from the shower as it has huge windows. We couldn't get a tuk tuk to the lodge because of the Tamil new year public holiday when everyone was on holiday. A kind local assisted us and got the train station attendant to call the lodge and arrange for us to be picked up. The staff at the lodge are outstanding in their constant effort to provide excellent service. Collectively they cook delicious meals which are served in a neat and tidy dining area and they are ever ready to attend to your every need without hesitation. Breakfast was prepared at 6:30am for us on the morning we went to Hatten plains and we had a lovely hot lunch prepared when we returned.
The lodge is in a remote area so there is no reception but the staff used the lodge landline to call and confirm our next accommodation.
We would definitely recommend a stay at Hill Safari Eco Lodge.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Springbok87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge which was made by the food (lots and really tasty), the staff ( really friendly, genuine, helpful and knowledgeable) and the view/balcony from our room (we were in the upper, luxury room) .

It is a great location for a trip to Horton plains.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohiya
8.1 km away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
532 reviews
21.7 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,610 reviews
12.4 km away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
World's End Lodge
World's End Lodge
#4 of 8 in Ohiya
58 reviews
2.4 km away
Forest Cyniciam Holiday Bungalow
10.2 km away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya

Address: Lower Bray Estate, Ohiya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ohiya
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ohiya
Price Range: RM143 - RM215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Safari Eco Lodge is the bungalow of a private tea plantation (Lower Bray Tea Estate). It is a trekkers’ paradise with a trecking programme for 7 days. Visit places of interest in the area – taking 7 to 8 days. The magical place 6,500 ft. above sea level with the widest panoramic view extending from Balangoda to Udawalawe and beyond with its wales and valleys of Lower Uva basin and over the hills of Rakwana and Deniyaya upto the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka.The new wing rooms are equipped with modern furniture and fittings that offer star class comfort to our guests, including a private observation deck for the room. Furthermore, the new wing rooms are facing the Ohiya gap offering a panoramic view from your room, which extends up to the Southern coast (more than 100km) of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing